From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to


  • ...

    Travel dates

    27/04/2015 - 06/04/2018

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    My Name is Tom. Since 2010 I ran a graffiti company, painting murals and doing art workshops all over the UK ( In 2014 I went to Thailand for a month by myself over Christmas and realised how awesome travelling was. So shortly after my return in 2015 I got ready to shut down my business and use the money to travel the world for three years. I am looking to learn about eco-building/farming.

  • Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    For the last two years I have been learning about natural building.
    I have worked with cob, stone, hyperadobe, wattle & daub, wood, and more. I have been involved in the materials testing process at a couple of projects so I have a lot of experience with regards to finding the right earthen material for the job.

    I love to learn about new natural building techniques, and love to see other peoples ways of doing similar jobs so I can learn from their points of view.

    0ct 2015 - I am on a 5 month workaway builing a cob house. I have learned some woodworking and also how to work wih cob
    April 2016 - one month building with wood and cob at an eco camping business in Hungary
    July 2016 - organic farm in Greece. Planting and harvesting
    September & October 2016 - building wooden frame green house for aquaponics farm Tennessee USA. Learning about aquaponics
    November december 2016 - off grid Guatemala hostel
    January February 2017 - learning Spanish in Colombia
    March - November 2017 - building second cob house Brazil. Learning about lime and natural finishes.
    Started blog with all experience at

  • Languages spoken

    English, Portuguese, Spanish, learning French and Swedish

  • Age


  • Nationality


  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements



First storey done in a two storey con house we built in Brazil
We built this greenhouse in Tennessee
Using up scrap wood to make this border