La'akea

From: United States

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Uruguay

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/08/2018 - 05/01/2019

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    589

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    Aloha! My name is La'akea, I'm a teacher/community organizer looking to get my hands dirty and learn more about organic farming, beekeeping, winery, midwifery, sustainability and homesteading. I have a few years of background in organic and permaculture farming as well as animal husbandry (mainly goats and sheep), and am looking to broaden my understanding of self-sufficiency, maintaining a symbiotic and restorative relationship with the land, and I hope to learn from like-minded individuals along the way!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Two years experience teaching elementary school children ages 3-12, teaching over 1500 students total. Skilled in tutoring, lesson planning, and outdoor education. Two years experience running my own children's gardening program and one year of starting and managing a community garden. Two years experience working on an organic fruit farm, working as a tour guide and farm laborer. One season working on a zero-fossil fuel permaculture operation. One season's experience working on a goat dairy farm, milking goats and sheep, sheering, making cheeses. One year experience managing a farmer cooperative market booth.
    I am also skilled in plant-based cooking, and sourdough baking!
    I am a certified and trained yoga instructor.
    Other areas of experience: food service, hostel and bed and breakfast work, community organizing, and tropical/subtropical agriculture. I am physically fit and able to accomplish challenging tasks. I am a team player, a positive person, an eager and fast learner, and I understand the importance of working with and learning from one another. I love to learn new languages!

  • Languages spoken

    Fluent English, Fluent Hawaiian, Novice Spanish, Novice Arabic, Intermediate Swahili

  • Age

    25

  • Nationality

    Hawaiian

  • What else ...

    I am really looking for an educational experience in my workaway time. Some skills I am looking to gain are:
    -beekeeping
    -green construction/eco building
    -midwifery
    -permaculture
    -wine-making
    -naturopathic healing
    -language(s)
    -community projects and community food systems management

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan/Vegetarian

Photos

Feedback