Jacqueline

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    26/06/2018 - 25/07/2018

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    Important info: I am seeking work in a hostel, preferably in the Lisbon area. However, I am open to work with children and animals as I have in the past.

    Hello hosts :) :) My name is Jacqueline (Jaki), I'm a happy, energetic and very friendly lass from bonnie Scotland! At the moment, I am living in Badajoz in Spain teaching English, but I will be finished teaching towards the end of June.

    Please see my photos and experience below :)
    Scottish people are known to be amongst the friendliest people in the world. I'm a hard worker and, like a child, always curious to learn and grow. I am a real family girl, but travelling is my life. My goal in life is pretty simple: to work hard, have fun, help people and make others happy :D Let's enjoy every moment of this crazy journey we call life.
    These are some ways I would describe myself for Workaway:
    Traveller
    Hard-worker, professional and reliable
    Good vibes
    A good sense of humour
    Always smiling/happy
    Talkative but I also enjoy tranquillity
    Considerate and kind
    Love meeting new people
    Full of life and lots of energy
    I forgot to say... I love to sing and dance!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I have recently obtained a Teaching English (TESOL) qualification.
    I can drive :)
    I am a university graduate of Media & Communications and I work many Events/Public Relations/Customer Service jobs.
    I can help with: Welcoming people, promoting services, giving tours, social media, filmmaking, some editing skills.
    Gardening, building and creative skills.

    I love animals (I have worked with them in Maryland USA and Moncarapacho, Portugal.)
    I also work with children – caring duties, fun activities, play and teaching!
    Looking after children
    Dancing, singing and acting
    Working with and assisting guests/travellers

    I have skills with creative work – ceramics, upcycling, arts and crafts
    I have had many jobs which involve hard and practical work. If you introduce me to any tasks, I always learn quickly and try to give my best effort!
    Keen to learn: International cooking, meeting new people in order to learn new languages and share different cultures.

  • Languages spoken

    English. French (levels from school) and basic Spanish

  • Age

    30

  • Nationality

    Scottish

  • What else ...

    Hobbies / free time / common traits:

    MUSIC – I can’t live without it (acoustic, reggae, everything)
    Conversations with interesting people
    Arts & Crafts, painting, drawing, colourful art
    Relaxing, daydreaming, thinking
    Hiking, yoga, surf, swimming

    Extra details about my experience working with children:

    2005-present: Childminding duties for family and friends.
    2009: Children’s Summer Camp Counsellor and Teacher of Arts & Crafts (Maryland, North America)
    2009-2012: Student Mentor (Glasgow, Scotland) providing fun and education activities for children aged 3 to young people aged 18 years.
    2012: Project Volunteer (various locations, Thailand), teaching English to young children aged 3-10 years; providing after-school care activities; day care at a school for young blind and disabled children.
    2014: English Conversation Assistant and TEFL Teacher (Barcelona, Spain)
    2015: Playworker (Glasgow, Scotland) providing care for children aged 5-11 years old in the mornings for breakfast, taking them to school and providing fun and playful activities after school until the parents collected the children.
    This May 2017 I qualified as a Child Development Officer (Post Grad HNC in 'Early Education and Childcare').

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan

Photos

Sharing Scottish culture!
Nursery child care - happy happy!
7am: Maya Bay beach, Thailand
Tulip festival, Washington USA
Arts and Crafts work for children
Farm work - bamboo planting
Volunteer adventure - Thailand

Feedback