Yoshijamika

From: Canada

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Canada

  • ...

    Travel dates

    All times

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Top Workawayer

  • Description

    My full name is Yoshijamika, but you can just call me Mika :) I was raised in suburbia Vancouver, went to uni in Montreal, travelled for about 1.5 years straight after getting my degree, and then lived in Japan for just over 2 years.
    Now I am in BC until at least October.

    About me-
    I studied Political Science and a little bit of Management and music (not performance), but generally I am interested in taking everyday as it comes and seeing what opportunities I come across. I'm quite like nature and interested in living a sustainable life, so I'm really interested in things like growing food, sustainable building/creating in an environmental/sustainable way. I'm also pretty interested in living kind of off grid style....I kind of have done this before (lived a little under 2 months with no running water, very limited electricity, very very limited wifi).
    I'm trying to stop taking airplanes.
    I like reading, writing, editing, bicycling, walking, watching, music.

    I have held part-time jobs since 14 and have been highly involved in extra-curricular activities at all the schools I've attended, so my experience ranges from coordinating vegan kitchens, babysitting, writing and editing academic papers, and peeling off wallpaper.

    My Workaway Experiences-
    I did about 8 workaways during the years I travelled after uni. Then, living in Japan, I volunteered with an organic farm and one of the things I helped with was organizing volunteers, so I think I've got a glimpse of both sides. (We used workaway and another organization).

    These days I have a meditation practice twice a day, an hour each. So, I hope we can make sure that can continue if I come to work/stay with you :)

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Tough question! I feel like my skills are constantly evolving, so it's tough to type them into this box. When I contact you, I will probably go into detail about skills/experiences I have that I think match well. But if you are curious, please feel free to ask.

  • Languages spoken

    English(native), French(intermediate-advanced) , Japanese (intermediate-advanced)

  • Age

    26

  • Nationality

    Canadian, Japanese

  • What else ...

    I love to smile and share this with others!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Lactose intolerant

    • Special dietary requirements
      Vegan- I recognize cooking vegan and having vegan ingredients is difficult for some hosts. Maybe you will not be able to provide vegan food and that is okay. I hope we can discuss this and come to a mutual understanding.

Photos

Feedback