Willemijn

From: Netherlands

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Nepal, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Vietnam

  • ...

    Travel dates

    16/01/2018 - 16/07/2018

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    497

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    After studying and working for the last decade, I decided to quit my job and minimize my belongings to backpacksize. This feels surprisingly good. I'm finally ready to explore my capabilities, expand my knowledge and fulfill my
    - "I really want to be part of a project that makes me feel excited" - intention.

    I started my travels last August in Spain, by helping out at an off grid yoga retreat for a few weeks. After that I walked along the north coast of Spain, following the 'camino to Santiago' and a little further. It was the loveliest thing I ever did. Then, I went to Uganda for two months. This was quite an experience. In the end I didn't want to leave. I've worked with groups of women and my job was to empower them. This mainly meant teaching some arts&crafts and discussing personal/business skills. I really loved their enthusiasm and getting to know them a little bit, once they opened up.

    Since January I work as an au pair on Bali. But, this doesn't suit me. It's quite lonely and not fulfilling. So, I've decided to travel on. This makes me feel excited and terrified at the same time.

  • Type of help

    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    I can teach, listen, take care, energize, organize, cook, babysit, play, laugh, hug, dance.
    And, as some of my friends say; "you make life lighter, by being exactly who you are".

    Last year I finished my studies (Child and Education studies, master Learning problems and Impairments). Over the past few years I have worked in special education settings, daycare, as a remedial teacher and I took care of people with multiple disabilities. I really enjoy thinking in possibilities, support people, look at what they cán do and find practical solutions for their difficulties.

  • Languages spoken

    Dutch, Englisch, some German

  • Age

    28

  • Nationality

    Dutch

  • What else ...

    I'd like to work together, I'll bring all my love and effort (this probably sounds really American, but it's true).

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No (hurray!)

    • Special dietary requirements
      No, I'm lucky, I don't

Photos

My Photo Album

Feedback