From: New Zealand

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    France, Ireland, Italy, Portugal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    30/06/2019 - 30/11/2019

  • Badges

    Good Workawayer

  • Description

    I will, for the second year, leave the comfort of home to travel in Europe for four to five months. During some of this time I would like an opportunity to meet locals and experience their cuisine, culture and day to day lives. I believe that I will be able to help WorkAway hosts and their families improve their English language skills while participating in their day to day activities. I enjoy learning new skills and teaching others new skills as well.
    I would like to share this experience with my sister Clare, an energetic school teacher with a great sense of humour, who is currently based in Europe for an indefinite period.

  • Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice

  • What skills do you have?

    Willingness to try new things
    Can cook but prefer to help with meal preparation as I enjoy the shared experience
    Environmentally aware
    Adaptable and energetic
    Perseverance - see things through
    Light gardening - volunteer at a community garden
    Good with children
    Have some hands on experience in elderly care
    Computer literate
    Proofreading and copy editing

  • Languages spoken

    English, some Italian and French

  • Nationality

    New Zealander

  • What else ...

    I am experienced Proofreader and Copy Editor, have been a literacy volunteer in the US, and am currently a volunteer proofreader for the Blind Foundation in New Zealand. I also assist in training Blind Foundation low vision clients to use Ipads for accessing audio books.
    In between other responsibilities and projects I have been studying part-time towards an Arts Degree with majors in Art History and Italian language and culture.

    I have an EU passport and an International Drivers Licence.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements