Matthew & Sophie

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Italy, United Kingdom

  • ...

    Travel dates

    22/08/2018 - 18/02/2019

  • Badges

    Super Workawayer

  • Description

    Hi there! We're from Melbourne, Australia and have been together for 8 years. In June 2018, we (Matt - a 26yo mechanical engineer & Sophie - a 26yo investor relations analyst) decided to take an extended career break to enjoy travelling the world, experiencing different cultures and learning new skills. We share a passion for food (cooking & eating), travel, music, animals and sports. A common weekend for us would include pilates or yoga, socialising with friends, reading, visiting local markets, cooking and going to a gig. We’re positive people - passionate about physical and mental health, and doing what we can to improve our wonderful planet.
    We've both come from professional, career oriented environments and have decided to make the big step of quitting our jobs in Melbourne to explore the world. We're hard-working, enthusiastic and hungry for knowledge. We're keen to work in a completely different environment, make great friendships and pick up a heap of life skills along the way.
    As of March 2019, we have completed five Workaway experiences - two in hostels, one at an educational farm, one at an olive grove and another painting a house. Each has been a unique and rewarding experience, and we're looking forward to many more to come!

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    We like to think we have the following skills:
    - Great communication and get along with everyone
    - Cooking
    - Cleaning
    - Problem solving and critical thinking
    - Creatively minded
    - Well versed in computers (eg Word, Excel, PowerPoint, general Mac & Microsoft programs)
    - First aid competent
    - Planning & coordination
    - Financials & budgeting
    - General household maintenance
    - General house fault troubleshooting
    - Amateur gardening skills (eager to learn more)
    Through our working lives so far, we've flourished working in both independent and team environments.
    Matt has a Bachelor of Mechanical Engineering degree, and has worked in the water treatment and chemical manufacturing sectors for the past 4.5 years.
    Sophie has a Bachelor of Business (Finance major) and a Bachelor of Psychology. Sophie has worked in the health industry as an investor relations professional for the past 3 years.

  • Languages spoken

    English & (a little) Italian

  • Age

    26 & 26

  • What else ...

    Sophie is a dual citizen - she holds both Australian & British passports.
    Matt is an Australian citizen, however holds a 2 year UK youth mobility visa (valid until August 2020).

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      No

Photos

Feedback