Ruby & Jack

From: United Kingdom

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    Austria, Belgium, Croatia, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland

  • ...

    Travel dates

    08/01/2019 - 29/02/2020

  • number of facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    865

  • Badges

    Explorer
    Good Workawayer
    Facebook verified

  • Description

    We are a young family seeking new experiences for ourselves and our six year old son Leo. A couple of years ago we had a real wake up call, urging us to learn a life more sustainable and follow our hearts. We believe in living each day in the heart and learning the way of nature to bring ourselves into peace.
    We are from the UK, currently living in Bath and have taken the decision to home educate our son who has learning difficulties. After contracting meningitis at 5 weeks old and suffering some brain injury Leo thrives in a more natural environment and is happy playing with the grass/ water and enjoying a simpler more sensory life. He is a very smiley child who shines happiness into the hearts of so many people who know him. We now also have a Yound sheep dog called Otto who is traveling with us. He loves children and all pets and was raised on a farm. He would love other dogs to run around with or he can spend his time close with us.
    We are now traveling with our van and so can sleep in the van/ tent whenever needs be. It's small enough to do the shopping but just big enough for a double and single bed. It's a bit of a squeeze so if we can bring the bell tent we would be more comfortable.
    As a family we would love to meet an understanding host who is able to come to an arrangement to split work between myself and Jack.
    There are many tasks we could still perform whilst caring for Leo such as cooking, cleaning, childcare, web design or gardening. We make a great working team but was you can imagine when hosting a family sometimes one of us will have to work around Leo's schedule, for this reason we are happy to pay contribution towards food.
    I enjoy meeting new like-minded people, being in nature, meditation and family. I come from a big family who have always been hands on, creative and outgoing. I travelled as a child and my family were always out singing round a bonfire or making delicious veggie meals. I am a trained aerial teacher and plan to hook my hoop over a tree wherever I can. I'd love to teach anyone willing to have a go with me :) I love to do a job well and please whoever we are working with, I take pride in learning new skills and stretching myself
    Jack's background is in the fitness industry and has experience in running his own business. Since meeting me and Leo he's dedicated himself to being a father and found himself on a new path of understanding life. He has designed and built successful online business bringing in trade from very little financial input and can work around our schedule now. He is physically if and has experience working on site with manual labour and limited carpentry experience. He's the first to admit he doesn't like to be creative especially with other peoples projects so clear tasks and helping you achieve your vision is more his cup of tea.
    We both want to learn the skills of permaculture, building, gardening. I want to make more of my own clothes, develop my cooking repertoire, learn new languages. We are sponges for new information and we are so happy to learn.
    If you are unsure logistically how it would work having a family work with you or your unsure for any reason about being able to cater to our family, please don't hesitate to ask any questions. We are very open and would be happy to talk about any concerns you have. We accept that not all placements would be possible for us but if you could do us the honour of letting us know what may be tricky we can try to work it out. One thing we've learnt well is to adapt and still follow your dreams.
    Thanks for reading,
    Love from the heart,
    Ruby, Jack and Leo

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Other
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    Between us we have skills in cooking, gardening, personal training, web design, first aid trained, childcare, fitness, IT, running a household, basic DIY, customer services etc

  • Languages spoken

    English

  • Age

    26 & 27

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    We are driving around Europe and given the opportunity we would love to make a detours wherever we go to meet like minded people.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      No

    • Special dietary requirements
      Ruby is vegetarian but I don't mind cooking meat

Photos

Feedback