Maria & James

From: Australia

  • ...

    Account Type

    Couple account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    India, Japan, Nepal

  • ...

    Travel dates

    20/03/2017 - 20/05/2017

Watch my profile video

  • Description

    We are looking for Workaway now in India for the months March until May 2017

    Hi my name is Maria and my husband’s name is James. We are 30 year old Aussies. I’m a yoga instructor and own and operate a yoga studio. James is an engineer and has a web design and digital marketing agency. Our home town Townsville is located in the north-eastern state of Queensland. It is a coastal town, home to around 200,000 people near bushland (the outback), World Heritage tropical rainforests, beautiful islands and the Great Barrier Reef.

    We are on an 8 month adventure around the world. We started our travels early October in Orlando then went onto Johnson City TN, DC, New Jersey, New York (USA), Banff & Toronto (Canada), Munich (Germany), Schnann (Austria), Paris (France), Valencia (Spain), Brussels (Belgium), Zagreb, Split, Vrgorac (Croatia), Roma (Italy).

    Our travel Destination and Months are:
    India/Nepal - March/April/May
    Japan - June

    I'm a qualified yoga teacher and started my own yoga studio back home called Arc Yoga. I have 6 teachers working at the studio while my husband and I are traveling. Previous to us starting our travels I ran the studio on my own, teaching, cleaning, banking, accounting, social media, etc.

    I have a bachelor's degree in Graphic Design and designed my own logo, graphics & website. I previously worked for a television station for 5 years as a video producer where I edited TV commercials. I resigned 4 years ago to follow my passion of yoga.

    My husband has a joint bachelor’s degree in environmental engineering and physics. He resigned from a his job of 7 years at a large engineering consultancy to start his own digital marketing business. His job now allows us to work and travel at the same time. He helps businesses get their websites found on Google and get more customers. His business is called Search Paladin

    We love animals! We have a dog named Greville who is living with his grandparents while we travel. Greville is a 5 year old German Shepherd who we love and miss dearly. Even while we are away he is having fortnightly rehabilitation appointments where he gets massage and also walks on a hydro treadmill to help reduce the impact and suffering on him from hip and elbow dysplasia (due to bad breeding). He goes to a dog trainer most weeks to calmly socialise. He is also attending one of my teachers yoga classes. Prior to traveling Greville went almost everywhere with me. He attended most of my yoga classes and went out to breakfasts and lunches with us. He is well known around town as the yoga dog. He meditates (sleeps) calmly in the corner of the studio during classes.

    I grew up on a Tobacco farm located in Far North Queensland. My mother was born in Italy but migrated with her parents to Australia as a child and my father was born in Australia to Croatian parents. I grew up eating a lot of Italian food. My mum taught me how to cook from a young age and I love cooking. We had pet dogs, cats, chickens, goats and a wallaby (like a Kangaroo). As a child I helped out with feeding, collecting eggs, washing dogs and with the Tobacco farm work. I also helped my Zia and Zio (Italian aunt and uncle) on their Mango farm and other jobs.

    James was born and bred in Townsville and attended school and university (college) there. We met while we were both going to university in Townsville. He is a wiz with computers and has always built his own from individual parts. He can fix many computer issues and often gets calls from his father in-law (my dad) about his computer problems which he calmly helps resolve over the phone!

    James is a natural problem solver and has a passion for nature which is why he became an environmental engineer. After working as an engineer for 7 years and not feeling like he was making a big enough difference in the world, he decided to change direction. Learning digital marketing and starting his business he is now helping businesses that are doing good for the world. Digital marketing also gives us the benefit of being able to travel and being able to complete his work at the same time.

    As we travel we are regularly posting on social media on our account Where’s Allen's.
    Snapchat: mariangreville

    So thats us! Fun, active, hard working and animal lovers. We decided to apply for workaway to meet people, explore new places, save money while traveling and have more constant accommodation so James get some work done.

    We look forward to hearing from hosts :)


    Maria & James Allen

  • Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • What skills do you have?

    Maria: teaching yoga, graphic design, video editing, photography, cooking, cleaning, gardening
    James: digital marketing, web design, computers, environmental engineering, physics, maths, cooking, gardening

  • Languages spoken


  • Age

    31 & 31

  • Nationality


  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements


My Photo Album

My passion, teaching yoga at my studio Arc Yoga in Townsville.
Our wedding in 2014 on my parents farm.
Greville at rehab
Greville with James (The night before we left Australia)
My yoga studio with Greville at the back.
Greville meditating at my yoga studio.
Our workaway host's Sandy and David taking us site seeing in New Jersey
James and I preparing our New Jersey Workaway host with some Aussie food (Snags on bread).
Our New Jersey Workaway Family
James and Workaway host Kendal in the process of making stairs.
Painting a fence at our New Jersey Workaway :)