James

From: South Africa

  • ...

    Account Type

    Individual account

  • ...

    Travelling to

    South Africa

  • ...

    Travel dates

    19/11/2018 - 18/02/2019

  • Badges


  • Description

    I am a 37 year old British guy travelling in South Africa. I am looking for the opportunity to stay with host families and offer my services in return for board/lodgings and interesting experiences too! I have already partaken in three volunteering positions in South Africa in: Waterval Boven (Nelspruit Region), South Coast KZN and in the Wild Coast. I thoroughly enjoyed my experiences in all three of these locations and loved the people I met there. I was able to contribute much needed support and help in the construction and maintenance of the buildings and gardens at these locations and had a whale of a time whilst doing it!
    I love travelling and meeting new people and am ready to continue my adventure and help you out in the process!
    In the UK I am/was a Mechanical Engineer/Product Designer so I am excellent with my hands. I also run/ran a cleaning and maintenance business for some time and have experience in construction so I am very comfortable getting those skilled hands dirty too ;)
    I like to get involved in projects and put something of myself into everything I do; mainly high quality workmanship and enthusiasm!
    I am also interested in contributing to the advancement of the quality of life of the local peoples wherever I go and whether this be in the field of teaching (where I also have a natural enthusiasm, patience and talent) or in some other way, I am only too happy to get involved and give what I can.
    I look forward to hearing from any and all hosts regarding opportunities in fields I am used to or fields I haven't worked in yet!
    I am technically savvy and personable too - hopefully a winning combination for you!
    Regards,
    James

  • Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Elderly Companion
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • What skills do you have?

    As described in my profile statement above, the skills I bring to a situation are practical and interpersonal. I am a great communicator, a hard worker and a principled guy too. I want to make a difference and have fun at the same time.

  • Languages spoken

    English (British - Fluent/Native); French (Basic Conversational); German (Basic Conversational); Turkish (Basic Conversational); Non-English South African Languages (Basic Conversational)

  • Age

    37

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    I'm already in South Africa so I'm ready to help you now!

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies
      Nope

    • Special dietary requirements
      Nope

Photos

Yup, it's me!
I'm at 4 o'clock in this photo taken with friends/backpackers in the Wild Coast in S.A!

Feedback