1 / 3
atualizado  

Help with gardening at our family place in Hawaii, United States

  • EUA
  • Favorito 194 vezes
  • Última atividade: 03/02/2023

Disponibilidade

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a couple on a 1-acre plot in Puna, 12 miles from Hilo and between Keaau and Pahoa. The 16 year old house is surrounded by beautiful tropical vegetation and some unaltered lava mounds just a few centuries old. The ocean is over 3 miles away, usable beaches even further. This is *not* a tourist area, but an inland and ordinary (for Hawaii) rural zone. Our dead-end street is well-maintained and has little traffic, yet is very close to a major highway and bus stop.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You will learn about various tropical plants, both native and some of the invasive ones we're trying to control, although the invasive guava can actually be quite tasty, and we'll show you how to identify the ripe fruits. You will definitely meet and possibly help catch, butcher, and eat some wild chickens and pigs. You'll also at least hear of the less visible denizens like mongooses, chicken hawks, and coqui frogs. I can also tell you much about many of the unique physical, social, economic and even legal peculiarities of this island state, such the island's strong "re-use" culture where little goes to waste. I can also give instruction or tips about using various lawn tools, including a chainsaw if you're interested, but that must be used with supervision. One of my projects this year will be replanting bamboo shoots to grow new trees, so we can experiment together with that. We have lots of bamboo, so if you want to take some home, or make a pet project with it, feel free to ask about this.

    We are not Hawaiian natives, but have great respect for their culture and try to keep learning more about it so we can honor those who came before us on their lands and show concern for their rights and needs, so as we go I'll share my admittedly second or third-hand knowledge of this. You'll also learn about how modern technology is adapted for island use: we have a self-contained rainwater catchment system, and a solar water heater and PV/battery system which makes us about 90% independent of the electrical grid. I'll explain and demonstrate how to use these systems efficiently.

    About us: Scott is an independent scholar in philosophical ethics, also interested in science & history; I can share a lot about academic life, analytic philosophy, and ethical theory. Jennifer enjoys arts, crafts, and cooking. Her art uses both African and Hawaiian themes ; she would love to meet other artists interested in using local materials or inspiration. Also staying with us most months is my nephew John, his girlfriend Sierra, and her cute little dog; both are charming and talkative, and love hiking and other island adventures. We all have progressive politics and humanistic values, respect science and reality, and are fully vaccinated. If you are a Trumpian conspiracy theorist, we advise you to look elsewhere; LGBTQ & allies will find a warm welcome, not just here but throughout the islands, which has a very diverse population.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Most help required is fairly basic (unskilled): cutting and moving around unwanted trees/brush, relocating rocks, clearing moss and other vegetation off of volcanic rocks, etc. It's not complicated, but you have to do some lifting here and there. Any experience with tropical plants, or chickens and pigs, is welcome but not essential. We spent much of the first year clearing out much of the unwanted brush, and expect that in the coming year we'll focus more on prettifying the landscape. We're open to ideas about arranging lava rocks, maybe even planting additional fruit trees or other vegetation.

    We are also open to visitors with unique cooking skills, who can share dishes from their own cultures. We also wouldn't turn away a good masseuse--we both like to do lots of outdoor work and sometimes wear our old muscles out!

    There are mosquitos and stinging fire ants in the yard, though we have repellant against the former, and the latter have been greatly pushed back by some poison treatments. Individual sensitivities to these vary greatly; I'm largely immune while they drive Jennifer nuts!

    Amount of help requested: We calculate this as 3 hours per night stayed, and 2 hours every seventh night for a total of 20 per seven day period. This does not mean you work every day, it should just add up to that during your stay. You should try to be flexible about when you work, keeping in mind:
    - type of work needed (some is best done with a partner, some separately)
    - weather (rainy days shut down most outdoor work, while on sunny days it can get pretty hot by early afternoon)
    - time off (you should plan some whole days off so you can relax or explore the island; not necessarily weekends)

    We're happy to be flexible in turn and negotiate work times to meet individual needs and capacities. If you get tired or overheated, please take a break and recuperate. You're never far from the house, so come back inside or at least into the shade anytime, and stay well-hydrated, we have plenty of ice water. If you don't feel suited to a particular task, let us know and we'll try to find a different one for you.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Workaways will usually use the main floor bedroom, which has a very comfortable king bed, a small private lanai, and is adjacent to the shared living room, kitchen, and bathroom. Couples get priority use of the bedroom; occasionally we may also accommodate a single person on the living room couch, with no privacy, though a single person can use the bed instead if you're the only workaway visitor.

    FOOD: We will provide basic meals, or staples (e.g., rice, pinto beans, egg noodles, butter, instant potatoes and milk, frozen vegetables, spices) for you to make your own with. Meat will usually be chicken or pork, often harvested off the land. If you have specialized diet/tastes, including vegetarian/vegan, you may have to purchase additional supplementary food; there are farmers' markets within walking distance, and many stores in Kea'au or Hilo. Note that while dry bulk goods are essentially the same price as the mainland, some perishable foods are significantly more expensive, including milk products, bread and (perhaps surprisingly) fruit. If your tastes lean to the latter, you may have to adjust.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There are no interesting places to visit within walking distance, but on the free county bus (#40, stops 2000 feet from the house) you can easily reach Hilo, or the smaller villages of Kea'au or Pahoa. Hilo has several swimming holes/tidal pools, the incredible Rainbow Falls, and a host of museums on local culture, history, biology, and ocean science, as well as many galleries with artwork inspired by the beauty and history of the island. Pahoa has a few galleries and museums as well.

    A car is needed to reach most of the more scenic or touristy sites. If you don't rent your own car, we can take you in our hybrid car to one scenic site per week, more if it fits our plans, but please don't expect frequent chauffeuring beyond this. Nearby accessible sites include lava tubes and beaches near Hilo, Volcano National Park, Lava Tree State Park, and other parks and beaches in lower Puna. There are a few beaches north of Hilo, although all the most desirable beaches on the island are on the west (Kona) side. There are many hiking trails of various lengths both up the mountains and down to the shores in almost all directions, and some fresh lava sites from the 2018 eruption are a must-see. We can probably take you to and from the Hilo airport, but if you're traveling via Kona you should take the bus to our side.

    Plan for an initial stay of no more than one week. If we get along and like your work, this might be extended, although in the next two months we probably can only take it visitors for a single week. I realize this makes planning difficult for people who are coming from off-island, but frankly we've had some people who come and don't do very much work, and seemed to be hoping to spend every afternoon at a beach, so we need a trial period for all visitors. We had to turn one person away after a single day; we don't like to do this, so make sure you're really a match for our needs and setting before making a request.


    Please include the following numbered answers in your request:

    1) your covid-19 vaccination status and health insurance status (documentation not required, just your assurance).
    2) your specific experience and/or interest in the kind of work we are asking for.

    Before you arrive, also give us your full name(s), phone # & other relevant contact information.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Yes, in fact one household member works online and never had serious access difficulty.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Parking space close to electrical outlets, though you'd have to come inside for water.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    4 hours/day, but see final note under "help requested"

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 464984485752

Fotos

Comentário



Share your time and passions and help us get things done at our home in Kauai, Hawaii, USA
Help with a non-profit nature reserve and education campus in southeastern Louisiana, USA