Holly

  • Estados Unidos
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    viajando

  • Descripción

    I’m a spiritual seeker who seeks meaningful experiences, connection with others, and to learn about and participate in other cultures. I love sharing food and drinks with others; experiencing nature; exploring other places and ways of life; and physically exerting myself, whether through exercise and hiking or good old-fashioned hard work. I regularly practice yoga and meditation. I also identify as LGBTQ and enjoy meeting others in the "family."

    I joined Workaway because I want to make meaningful connections and share experiences with people in the places my soul feels called to—especially people whose lives and cultures are different than my own. To me, this is what travel is all about. I want to be of service and give back to the collective; to expand my mind, broaden my worldview, and challenge my beliefs; and to transcend my small existence to experience this great big world with other living things.

    I'm currently in the midst of an open-ended travel experience, partially taking holiday and partially working as a digital nomad. I'm in Crete right now, and planned to visit Turkey on this trip as well; I have always felt called to the ancient world, including Greece and the Middle East, ever since I was a child, when I would check out stacks of books on mythology and ancient civilizations from the library. I visited Greece, Jordan, and Egypt in 2019, and wanted to come back and explore some of the places I didn't have time for. I also plan to visit a friend in Ireland this fall, and since I'll be close by, felt it was the perfect time to visit Scotland—another place I've felt drawn to, for its very different but equally mystical environment, and that I've been told I would enjoy.

  • Intereses

    Naturaleza
    Deportes de invierno
    Fitness
    Yoga / bienestar
    Ciclismo
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Agricultura
    Jardinería
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Mascotas
    Idiomas
    Arte y diseño
    Artes escénicas
    Dibujo y pintura
    Escritura
    Libros
    Blogging

    mostrar más
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Vida en una granja

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Proyectos artísticos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Enseñanza
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    I’m a skilled vegetarian cook and love to prepare meals for myself and others. I love gardening and harvesting vegetables and herbs; though my horticultural knowledge is limited, I’m a quick study, and the same goes for farming, construction, and manual labor. I’m physically fit and a hard worker, and love animals. Professionally, I’m a food and beverage journalist with an anthropology background; I’m an experienced writer, editor, and communicator with strong computer and digital marketing skills.

    I also consider myself a very empathic person and a good conversationalist and listener. I have been through a lot of trauma in my life, for which I have done a lot of healing work, and I appreciate conversations where I can help others process their pain while sharing some helpful things I've learned along the way. I also love having deep philosophical, spiritual, and political conversations with people, even (and sometimes especially) if their views don't align with mine.

    I've been auditing a college course in Greek, but since I am also working and traveling, it's been hard to keep up with my studies. I'd love the opportunity to practice and improve, and am happy to help others who want to learn English.

    Finally, I used to run a cheese-pairing events business with a friend of mine, so I have experience in event hosting and food and beverage education. As a food and beverage writer, I also have a good amount of knowledge in this regard, especially about vegetarian food and cooking, craft beer, cheese, wine, and Middle Eastern and Indian cuisine (my favorites). While I don't have formal teaching experience, I enjoy interacting with and teaching others in this capacity and am happy to have more opportunities to do so.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Greek: Principiante

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    I want to continue to learn and practice Greek, and am happy to help others learn or practice English.

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Edad

    37

  • Algo más...

    I love archaeology and learning about ancient civilizations, including ancient food and drink. I’m planning to go back to school to explore the connection between spiritually and altered states of consciousness. I have found great healing in energy work, meditation, and plant medicine, and want to learn more about naturopathic, traditional, and indigenous healing modalities. I’m also an artist and love to draw and express myself visually. I am LGBTQ.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      Canola oil

    • Dieta especial
      No meat, including pork or poultry (vegetarian, vegan, and seafood only)

Comentarios


Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios