Ella & Helen

  • Irlanda
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (4)

Good Workawayer
Explorer
Facebook verified

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estamos

    en casa

  • Descripción

    Hello everyone !

    We are Helen and Ella - childhood friends turned college roommates who spend our summers doing workaway.
    Together we have volunteered at seven different workaways, made friends for life, learned an array of skills and made some of our best memories with people from all over the world!
    We both grew up on farms in the countryside so we are no strangers to hard work, and our experience on workaway has taught us more skills from gardening to strimming to sanding wood.
    We left each workaway with new ideas about what makes a good life and what is fulfilling work and we realized that workaway is about so much more than the work-both us and the hosts always have something of value to share-for me that could be something as simple as sharing my favourite lentil dahl recipe with two of our wonderful hosts in Slovenia, while they told us about the changes they've experienced growing up since Slovenia split from Yugoslavia.
    Workaway is really what you make of it and we learned the best way for everyone to enjoy the workaway experience is to respect the work that needs to be done but also help keep the atmosphere of the workaway an open and positive one to make sure the experience is as enjoyable as it can be.

    Now here’s a bit more about each of us...

    Helen
    I am a laid back, relaxed and open person living in Ireland.
    I feel fellow travelers and workaway hosts' view on life is similar to mine and the Irish in general, especially in our love of meeting new people with a friendly face.
    Living on a farm in rural Ireland means I have always felt most at home outdoors, and since last year I have now brought that love of nature to my travels-my favourite way to spend my free time after work is going for a hike, swimming in a river, or cooking some good food over a fire.
    In my free time I love to spend time in the water, going for long walks around the hills of our farm, playing piano and trying out new recipes in the kitchen and I'd love to learn any local recipes you have while I'm there
    I really love music -everything from Debussy to the Kinks-hopefully I’ll meet some others with the same taste on my travels :)
    I’m embarking on PhD in psychology in September - I’m really interested in people and seeing the different ways people live-I have done numerous stints of long term travel abroad as I love seeing what real life is for the everyday person in a country.
    I like to speak with people who care about something meaningful and aren't just money-driven. I think people on this platform seem to have that same outlook.

    Ella
    Salut!! My name is Ella, and just like Helen, I am a spontaneous, sporty and adventurous soul from tranquil rural Ireland.
    I have just finished my final year of medical school, and am enthusiastic for my summer adventure to start! Spending the past year cooped up in the library has made me long for the freedom and camaraderie of Workaway.
    I love the outdoors and working in the fresh air, going for walks and swimming in the river, living a simple life. In my free time I like to read, play sport and play music, and help my mother in the garden. I'm a people person by nature - my idea of misery would definitely be having to work and live on my own, so I'm really excited to meet you and help you with your projects!
    I chose to do Workaway because it's such a great opportunity to meet new people and work in varied and unfamiliar environments. Our first summer, Helen and I set off with light suitcases and naïve perspectives for a coming-of-age expedition around the Balkans. We met a myriad of interesting people, and were happy to leave our mark on various projects we helped complete along the way, with different hosts. I felt I learned so much more around homely campfires and in hard slogs on tomato plantations than I could ever have gleaned from a book, or a part-time job at home. For me, the best part of Workaway is the titbits you pick up from your hosts, and fellow travellers- new skills, fresh perspectives, sporty games, thought-provoking ideas, quirky music, delicious recipes, and of course, broader perspectives!
    P.S we are happy to video chat before we come if you wish, or to give you any references from our work :)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Irish: Fluido
    Italiano: Principiante

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    Helen is an experienced English teacher and would be happy to help with your English if that's something you would like

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que queremos compartir o aprender

    Nos interesa:  

    Mantenimiento general
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Trabajo de caridad

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Hostelería/turismo
    Idiomas
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
    Enseñanza

    Podemos enseñar:  

    Vida en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    We did an array of jobs at all of the workaways, which involved both outdoor work and some hospitality.
    Some of the skills we learned at our previous workaways include:
    Vegetable gardening (planting, mulching, string training tomato plants, weeding etc.,)
    Strimming, leaf-blowing, hedge-cutting, shredding wood
    Sanding wood
    Sanding and painting shutters
    Digging trenches
    Clearing brambles
    Turning hay
    Pool cleaning
    Mucking out barns filled with donkeys and hens and trying to create a fitting environment for the hens to facilitate more egg-laying,
    Campsite members, welcoming and checking in guests & helping them set up
    Servers/bartenders in a restaurant
    Prepping Air BnBs and gites for guests
    Painting (indoors and outdoors)
    Putting down paving slabs
    General housekeeping

    For some of these things it was our first experience doing that type of task, but we quickly learned that the best approach to workaway: we are always ready to give it a try, ask a question if we're confused but always give it our best and learning something along the way.


    Helen
    Growing up on a family farm means I'm used to hard work and helping my parents as much as I can.
    From a young age I've helped milk cows, feed calves and look after our hens and ducks.
    We also started our own polytunnel during the lockdown, planting tomatoes, strawberries, rhubarb, cucumber etc so I would be happy to learn from you and work with your own vegetable garden.
    I spent many summers at my aunts stud farm, and while there, my cousins and I rose early to muck out, make up beds of straw for the horses, make sure they had enough water and hay and grooming the horses-
    Working on a farm means that no-one slacks off, but chips in to make the job easier for everyone, which importantly keeps a positive atmosphere on the job also!
    As well as this I have experience working as an au pair in France and Italy teaching english and have experience working in a bookstore.

    2) Ella
    I accompanied Helen in all the tasks she has detailed above, from hard physical farm work to little DIY projects like painting and gardening. We both have strong work ethics, and like nothing more than to see a job well done.
    For me, my favourite tasks were sprucing up the garden/horticulture plantations, tending to the animals, and serving customers in the bar/restaurants of some of our Workaways. It is very fulfilling to work with people, and outdoors, and growing up I spent my evenings down the yard working on the farm.
    I am trained in first aid and have spent the last 2 years of my medical training in hospitals so I am well used to responsibility!

  • Edad

    24 & 23

  • Algo más...

    We have both had our Covid-19 vaccines and boosters.
    Also, Helen smokes but if that's a problem she would be fine to not smoke while at the workaway.
    We are willing to work with you to make sure we both get the most out of workaway , and are really looking forward to meeting you.
    Looking forward to chatting with you,

    Helen and Ella

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      N/A

    • Dieta especial
      We are both pescatarian (the only meat we eat is fish) but we can also supply our own protein sources if it is difficult to accommodate non-meat eaters at your place :)

Comentarios



Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios