Help in our garden and with our animals on a family farm in Taos, New Mexico USA

Country

Estados Unidos

519 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    10  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    03/05/2021

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We have a small organic family farm in northern New Mexico, located at 7600 feet in the southern part of the Rocky Mountains. We have dairy goats, chickens, two dogs, three cats, and a large home garden in which we grow food, process it and preserve it for our own self sufficiency. Our home is a 10 minute walk to the village of Arroyo Seco and a 15 minute drive to Taos. We are also a few minutes drive to hiking trails in the mountains. Interests include hiking, gardening, sustainable living, cooking, baking and cheese making, making body-care products, skiing, art, music, literature, and culture.
    We are a married couple who are now empty nesters as our children (ages 21 and 23) have gone off on their own adventures.

    We are committed to a healthy and sustainable home. Non-smokers only please.

    We enjoy spending time with people from other areas of the world and sharing a bit of our lives in Taos.
    We consider individuals, but in the growing season we prefer pairs of people who are interested in staying for around a month or more, who either have some gardening experience or are eager to learn.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Taos is home to Taos Pueblo, a 1000 year old Native American community. Taos is also a very culturally rich and deeply spiritual place. With us you can learn a wide variety of Homesteading skills.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    In the winter, the chores involves taking care of the animals, milking goats, and maintenance projects around the farm. In the warm season, we additionally work in the garden and process the produce to preserve it for winter. We invite our work away guests to help in the kitchen preparing food, making cheese and bread, and cleaning up.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Italiano: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    A comfortable bed in your own room in our home or in the warmer season, accomodation in our converted camper school bus.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are very close to hiking in the nearby mountains and the Rio Grande Gorge and a short walk to the village Arroyo Seco that has a cafe, organic grocery store, and youth hostel.

    Taos is in a remote part of New Mexico. It is difficult to get here if you don't have your own transportation. There is some public transportation from Albuquerque, but it's not great.

    We own a business in Taos where we can meet Work Away guests and drive them to our home in Arroyo Seco.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours daily 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.7)











Número de referencia de anfitrión: 958523764137