Come and help us to become self-sufficient in Auckland, New Zealand

Country

Nueva Zelanda

344 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    27  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    06/12/2020

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    249

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Our family of 3 children, 1 slightly tubby Bearded Collie, 2 cats, 2 sheep , several chickens and three + rabbits live on 2.5 Acres, of regenerating native bush and grass.

    We are working hard to be self sufficient but have some way to go (the veggie patch is looking a little bit sad right now...). We generate our own power, harvest water and use worm composting for our septics which seems to work well. The house is almost five years old and built to be energy and materials efficient.

    Our village is in the heart of a fantastic slice of countryside with beaches, shops, cafe's and every activity you could imagine a short drive away. We are out dog walking, mountain biking, swimming as often as we can...trying to find a balance between getting on top of the weeds, housework and having fun!

    We have had some great times with people we have hosted and every day we look out our windows and see what we have achieved together. However we still have a fair bit of work to do and are slowly working through several landscaping projects including finishing our fire pit and steps, clearing weeds / gorse / bramble and planting more shrubs, natives and fruit trees. As soon as one project is finished there always seems to be another one in the making :-)

    Right now we are in need of some help all round! Very soon we will be starting some new planting projects as well as strimming and trimming the new spring growth! On a rainy day (of which there are many during the spring) we may ask for some help in the house or help to refurbish our dining room, table and some wooden chairs we have just bought on Trade Me - both need some sanding and filling to get them ready to repaint.

    Juggling three sporty kids and the washing that comes with it means there are rarely enough hours in the day to make a dent in the backlog, let alone start new projects! We like to mix it up a bit - there is always stuff to do in the garden but when its wet and we can't get outside we can always find a project or two in the dry.

    We would love to welcome a cheery, sociable couple who enjoy a challenge and don't mind mucking in in our busy, noisy household - if that sounds like you - please get in touch!

    Just mucking in, having some fun, great food and a few beers at the end of the day would be great! Surf board, mountain bikes available for use...

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are keen travellers (albeit more sporadic these days) and love sharing travel stories and tips with our guests. We are happy to offer advice about places to see and things to do in NZ and have really enjoyed sharing our little piece of NZ with our guests from overseas :-). Staying with us you will get to see how we live on a day to day basis, juggling fun times with getting things done. You will be welcome to come out with us on the weekends and be part of our busy, noisy family during your stay. We hope that you will learn a little bit about Kiwi life, enjoying the great outdoors!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    The kinds of things we would love help with include
    - planting, weeding and mulching
    - help with landscaping projects
    - sanding and repainting tables and chairs
    - clearing bramble to restore the stream and planting with natives
    - help with our animals
    - help with housework

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a room with a double bed and loads of space in the house to hang out. This has been perfect for couples. Internet is available 24 hours. We have use of the village pool in the summer and we are a short 10 minute drive from the nearest shopping centre, Albany. The drive to the centre of Auckland is 20 minutes (if traffic is good). Murawai is our closest surf beach (25 minutes) and Long Bay or Orewa on the east coast (15 minutes).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We do live in the country. There is no public transport in the immediate vicinity but we are happy to drop you in Albany when we can if you need to shop / travel by bus to other parts of Auckland. We have space for your car or van and we have Mountain bikes available to borrow if you like to ride.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 951487878238