Help us with our home and garden in Victoria, Canada

Country

Canadá

actualizado  

135 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    23  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    03/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    92.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We (Paul and Keltie) moved in January 2021 to a new house in Victoria, on Vancouver Island. There is a huge south-facing backyard that we are excited to revitalize and turn into food producing and habitat provision. We have 7 chickens, and a sweet one year old puppy.

    We have completed most of the garden set up, and this summer we are focusing more on some minor renos inside the house, including a new bathroom and bedroom. We are particularly hoping to find workawayers that have experience with some carpentry, bathroom tiling, or other construction and renovation projects.

    We are committed to sustainability and social justice, and welcome people from all cultures and backgrounds (incl. LGBTQ2S) who arrive with an attitude of respect, curiousity and non-judgmental acceptance.

    There is no smoking in the house or on the property.

    We also are sensitive to fragrances, so please no perfumes, colognes, or strongly scented products while staying with us.

    We can accept a single helper or a couple (or if you are travelling with a friend, and don't mind sharing a double bed).

    Both of us are double-vaccinated, and booster. We would expect you to be up to date on Covid-vaccinations as well.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We try to live with a light footprint on the planet, so travellers will learn about living in an environmentally friendly way. We also believe strongly in the value of community, and are working on developing connections with neighbours - we hope travellers will experience a sense of community when they stay with us.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are unlikely to be able to accommodate you if you are looking for longer-stay postings (e.g. more than 1 month).

    It's also very hard for us to book something many months in advance as we just don't know our schedule and what needs to be done that far in the future. If possible, please only check in with us max. 3-4 weeks before you are thinking of coming.

    The kind of help tasks that you might encounter here will likely be varied, depending on what projects we are currently undertaking. It might be helping install attic insulation and storm windows, painting, and other house repair. It could be digging, removing ivy or other invasives, building garden beds, hauling soil, planting, weeding, setting up irrigation, etc. It might also include meal prep, or pet care of the chickens and/or pup.

    Much of the tasks we can show you what to do, but preference is for Workawayers with previous experience in construction, and/or helping on a garden or farm.

    Plus odd tasks around the house and yard, house cleaning, etc.

    We also ask workawayers to make us one meal that reminds you of home, so we get to know your food too!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Guest bedroom with double bed. There is a bathroom for your use, although we will also use it occasionally during the day (we have our own ensuite in our bedroom downstairs).

    For food, travellers would be welcome to eat meals with us, and/or make their own meals. We eat vegetarian, with lots of legumes and vegetables and whole grains, and would ask that travellers do not cook meat while staying with us.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Victoria has lots of beaches, some with good swimming spots if you are ok with colder water. There are also lots of parks and recreational walking/running/cycling trails.

    You will find lots of outdoor activities available here: cycling, hiking, kayaking, paddleboarding, sailing - it's a very active city.

    We live about 4 km from downtown, and there are various public transit options to get you there. We also likely have bicycles you can borrow while you are staying with us.

    In 2019, we spent the year cycle-touring around the world, and volunteered as Workawayers in Spain, England, Wales and Croatia and had a really great experience with this...so we know what it's like to be in your shoes, and what makes for a good stay.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There is limited parking on the street, and it's pretty quiet, so you would have a decent place to park and sleep.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Our dog is pretty friendly, so if you have the same this could likely work. Let's talk about it!

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 938872427313