Come and stay on a beautiful lake front acreage and help us start a farm in the Okanagan, BC, Canada




50 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Descripción


    Hello! I live on an lakefront acerage in between Armstrong & Vernon, currently we have lots of garden that needs tamed and we have big plans to start farming. Right now we have lots of land clearing to do and removing old buildings. Before the end of the summer we will need raised garlic beds built, filled and planted. We will also be growing landscape trees, so there is lots of work to do with harvesting seeds & cloning existing trees, We are planning to add an extension on to the house and building a new deck, so some woodwork or construction experience would be very helpful, if you don't have any we can get you started! We are growing a good amount of veggies for our own use this year and they also need looked after. We will be constructing a large greenhouse in the spring, so there is lots of planning & prep to do for that.

    It is me and my partner in the main house, he works up north so is often away for weeks at a time, I am 41 and he is 42, we are both very chilled but always very busy with projects around the property. I have spent a number of years travelling full time and I am keen to meet people from other countries and areas (I'm Scottish/Irish) my partner is Canadian. This is the first year I have lived on the acreage full time and I'm just getting started on my plans for the place. The house is only 10 years old so not much needs done, it is really just getting set up for the farming. I work from home, so I am around the whole time.

    We have a tenant who lives in a suite below the main house, he is super friendly and very interested in the farming plans, he currently does most of the gardening and has kept things under control for the last few years, he is often pottering around the gardens doing something. He builds race cars and demolition derby trucks in his spare time and is always happy to tell you all about what he's building if you are interested.

    We have a number of vehicles on the property from Race cars to Tractors, so if that is what you are interested in, there will always be something to keep you busy.

    We live in a beautiful area and like to go on trips, but there really isn't any need to go far to find something interesting. We have an RV and a cabin cruiser boat, we live about 10 minutes from Okanagan Lake which goes all the way down to Penticton. We are about 40 minutes from Mable Lake & Shuswap lake and 30 minutes from Kalamalka Lake, all those areas are excellent for biking/hiking/boating/camping/fishing.

    The property is about 15 minutes from Vernon and less than 10 from Armstrong, the road into Armstrong is beautiful and a haven for bikers, I can cycle there in about 25 minutes and I'm not that fast (you can borrow our bikes). There is no public transport but I am in "town" most days for something, so can provide rides and there is lots of transport from there.

    We are 35 minutes from Silverstar, so coming to stay with us might be a good stop gap between summer and winter jobs if you are planning to do a ski season, we are also within driving distance of Big White & Sunpeaks.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will be learning how to start a farm along with me! There is a host of knowledge here, from running businesses to construction, farming, mechanics, engineering & carpentry, we also welcome your own big ideas, we are just starting out so creative minds are welcomed!

    Both me and my partner are big foodies and love to cook and try new things, we are both into movies and music and generally just enjoying life.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Mostly I just need an extra pair of hands to help with the farming prep work. Any construction or farming experience would be awesome. If you like cooking and gardening even better! We are very flexible and there is a lot of work to be done, so you can let us know what you are interested in or any ideas for projects.

    I am very flexible on the hours you work, if you want to do them all in a few days and have the rest of the week off it is fine with me.

    Mostly at first it will be land clearing, gardening, general maintenance and removing old barns.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    Your accommodation would be in either in the house in an en-suite bedroom or in the summer in a 30 foot RV overlooking the lake. It's very comfortable, in good shape and has air con/heat, a decent sized fridge & freezer, two double beds and a dining area, so it could accommodate a couple or some friends. There is a small oven, a microwave and a gas stove top. The RV also has a bbq, a gas fire pit, camping chairs etc. We are very easy going so don't mind music and having a good time. No restrictions on weed or cigarette smoking as long as it's outside. You would also be welcome to chill out on our deck or anywhere around the property. We have a fire pit right in the middle of the garden and often have that going in the evenings.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are just tons of things to do in the area, anything lake related, the cycling is excellent, there are beautiful hikes to be done in very direction. Loads of vineyards and organic living. Vernon is a reasonable sized town with plenty to do and there are many places close by to go camping. I go to Kelowna about once a month but there really isn't any need as Vernon has pretty much everything available.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have internet but it's not super fast. I work online from home and it's fine for that. I usually watch Netflix in the evening if anything at all, and it's fine for that, but it is definetly not a super fast connection!

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Any size, I have hookups for Water, Sewer & Electricty

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    I have 2 dogs, born Nov 2020, I have 7 acres and there is another field attached to my property which is fully open of about 20 acres and a reserve across the creek, so loads of room to roam. I have two separate tenants with 5 dogs between them and there are 3 cats on the property (not in my house) they are generally outdoor and are dog smart! We also get a ton of wildlife here.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 213359248581