A syntropic garden, good food, and comfortable living in Tomar, Portugal

Country

Portugal

actualizado  

27 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    01/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I am single (widowed) about to turn 59. Have lived all over the world and welcome knowing about and interacting with other cultures. I was an entrepreneur building companies and running in the fast lane. I decided to slow down some years ago, to move back from Uruguay (where I was living for 5 years) to Portugal where I have roots going back to 1830, and to focus more on how I can be of service to the world.

    Here in central Portugal, near Tomar and between Santarem and Coimbra on the river Zezere, I bought a small plot of land with a ruin which has since been restored. I have about 700M2 of vegetable garden, a nursery, and about 1400 m2 of garden where I am planting fruit trees, bushes, evergreens, succulents and wild grasses. The house is comfortable and has 2 floors. There is a staircase connecting top and bottom, but two separate entrances, kitchens, and bathrooms.

    Part of my personal transformation, as I slowed down and moved to the countryside, involved going deeper inside myself; so for more than 10 years I have been a Vipassana meditator and regularly welcome understanding my consciousness in deeper and more connected ways. I like to discuss life, politics, spirituality, the world; but always from a perspective of humility and of openness. I value honesty, kindness, compassion, and caring.

    I also decided to spend as much time as possible, as the guardian of my property, caring for the land and improving the health of the soil, the biodiversity and the presence of insects and birds. Someday, I hope to pass on to someone what I have helped to create so that they may become the next guardians of this ecosystem.

    I love to cook and to share meals. I eat most everything but I try to eat as little meat as possible and to focus on what is coming from the garden. So meals are an important part of life here and I am keen to learn from others and to share what I know. I also look at ways to conserve food so as to use it the rest of the year, and I produce olive oil. Surpluses are shared with friends and neighbours. Vegan and vegetarian eaters are welcome and will be catered for.

    I usually work in the garden until last light unless I am involved in work I have related to land conservation (I am on the board of a foundation that has this goal) and other activities I am involved in that require time on the phone or the computer. At night I might read, write, or watch a movie or listen to music. I like to get to bed by around midnight and wake usually at 8 or earlier.

    I am very involved in land conservation, organic and syntropic farming, restoration of forest land, regeneration, and community building projects in Portugal and can help people who want to connect with these areas.

    I have no pets or animals as yet but would like to get a cat and dog in the future and perhaps have chickens and ducks.

    While I can take people that want to stay more than 2 weeks, my preference as a first time workaway host is to limit stays to 2 weeks (if possible). This is also, in part, because my upstairs apartment is also a guest room and I like to receive occasionally a visit from friends. Also, I think it good for workaways to discover the country when here and not to stay always in one place. But I am open to stays longer than two weeks in exceptional cases. I also prefer a maximum of 2 people staying at at time but can accommodate up to 4 (one double and two single beds). If you are single and are open to sharing the loft room please let me know when applying in case there is another person that wants to share the living quarters with you. I be also do not take Workaways under 30 due to unfortunate experiences in the past.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I live in the countryside in a small village about 7 km from a bigger town called Tomar. There is bus/bike/car for going into town and a small cafe/market shop 300 meters away. I speak Portuguese fluently but also English, Spanish, French and some German. I associate mainly with Portuguese people but many of them also speak English. I have good relations with my neighbours in the village who often pass by and some work in the garden as well. I am connected to a network of organic farmers in my area that might also be interested to use your help or to show you their farms. We have a great lake for swimming and water sports 10km away and another smaller one for swimming 3 km away. I have a huge collection of spiritual literature and on mindfulness in education and education in general, subjects that interest me. I meditate and would be happy to share this practice with anyone. I love to do yoga and would also welcome a chance to practise with anyone that visits. I have good internet, access to netflix and other film channels, and to spotify and my own collection of digital music. I like to play chess and backgammon, cards, and board games. I am useless at signing and playing musical instruments but love to listen to people talented in these areas. At night there's a fireplace in the main living area that is always on in the winter. Outside there is barbecue and several outdoor areas for eating.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Looking for persons with skills/passion/interest in the garden (and also in building). Most of the time you will be working with me so I can give guidance. I follow syntropic (agro-forestry) methods and other organic farming techniques. Depending on the season we can be harvesting, planting, pruning, fertilizing, collecting seeds, planting in the nursery, or conserving, There is ALWAYS something to do. I also have some basic building works that require skills in reinforced cement and basic carpentry. Looking for 20 hours a week spent during daylight hours but no fixed schedule necessary. If you are older do not worry, the work will adapt itself to you (I am 59).

    I prefer non-smokers, people that take care of their hygiene, people that can practise empathy and compassion, and those that are able to express their emotions in a non-violent manner.

    I don’t take people under 30 years of age.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Portugués: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    I have an upstairs loft apartment with its own bathroom and kitchenette, a double bed, desk/dining table, and a single bed with a pull-out mattress so you can sleep two more people or kids , one above, one below. The loft apartment is very quiet and completely separate and self-sufficient (own entrance and garden). Recently restored and quite luxurious actually so requires some care and cleanliness. All together must be about 50 m2. Outside terrace. Tall ceilings in wood. Antique furniture mixed with more contemporary.

    The windows are triple glazed but one can sometimes hear dogs barking in the neighborhood, the sound of the fridge of the kitchenette, or sounds in the rest of the house. Most people are not bothered (as they are minimal in volume) but if you are very sensitive to noise would be good to bring ear-plugs. Windows have black out light drapes, but some light still gets in. Mattresses and bedding provided and very comfortable. Can v+be changed once a week when a cleaning person comes to clean the house.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are two lakes nearby, one that is 70km long. One can be reached by foot. Great for summer swimming or fishing. Good biking and hiking trails nearby. Tomar is famous for its history and castle but is also a very authentic town that has not yet changed that much with tourism. I am linked to a network of organic farmers and gardeners in my area. 1 hour to the coast. 45 minutes to Coimbra, 1 hour to Lisbon. There is a train and bus station in Tomar that connects you to the rest of Portugal and to Spain.

    I do not take people under 30 years of age. I provide healthy meals (the same as those I myself eat) but rarely buy meat and prefer not to buy it for myself or for others; chicken and fish yes, occasionally. I do sometimes drink wine or beer but will not provide alcohol for Workaways except on occasional social occasions that we might celebrate together.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Unlimited internet with good GSM connection that is consistent and fast all day along. No fibre yet in this area. Have an ergonomic chair if needed. Work area very quiet. Not so strong a signal outside on the veranda but router can be extended there if necessary

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    I have a spot that has a connection for electricity and one that does not.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Not so keen on pets in the house. Can make exceptions but prefer if they sleep outdoors. This is mainly to avoid ticks and fleas indoors, any damage to furniture, and bringing dirt or hair indoors that needs to be cleaned. Obviously if you take good care then these are no longer issues and I become more open to an animal indoors. So the onus is on you to make me feel comfortable.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 937277837975