Help on a small family farm in Lethbridge, Newfoundland

Country

Canadá

53 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    21/09/2021

  • Medallas

 
  2021 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a small Family farm located in a rural area. Farming is how we live, we enjoy raising and growing our own food.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We have to do things a little different in Newfoundland. Our island is located in the Atlantic Ocean on the edge of North America, which gives us very unique weather patterns. Our weather can change instantly, having a vegetable farm in this climate alone is a challenge. Newfoundland is known for its unique culture, Newfoundland and Labrador has a reputation for being friendly, Warm and welcoming, the people here have a genuine spirit. They are also known for their natural creativity, unique language, and knack for storytelling!
    Our long isolation from the rest of the world created a culture that’s one of a kind. And you can see that expressed all around us.
    Our Farm is located around the bay, right on the Discovery Trail Highway, on the Bonavista Peninsula. Its very rural with a shopping hub located 20 minutes away called Clarenville. We are located just an hour away from historic Bonavista, along the highway there are many things to see and do. All reflective of our unique culture.
    On the Farm we enjoy a hard rewarding days work, we also enjoy a campfire, good music and friends. All of that will be experienced here.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We need physical help around our Farm. We need help around the farm in every corner of it. We can show anyone interested everything listed, we will train if needed. I am sure there will be an exchange of knowledge and we will learn as well.
    Tasks around the farm tend to be;
    Morning and evening feeding of animals which include; cats, dogs, pigs, goats, chickens, rabbits and horses.
    Mucking all the animals stalls when required and laying fresh bedding.
    Keeping the grounds as tidy as possible, we can get pretty messy when we don't have the time to tidy.
    At start of our growing season we need extra hands with planting in June, we place many plants in the ground the longer it takes to get them in, the less we will save due to the hot weather coming in July. Once all of the vegetable transplants are planted, then its, Weeding, weeding and more weeding. They tend to grow faster than we can get rid of them. We weed every day till harvest, that starts to happen in August.
    We have a farm market on site, we need to harvest fresh veggies every morning and keep the store stocked for our customers. Some assistance with household chores would be great!!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have 2 options available, you can stay with us in our home. We have 3 dogs and 3 cats in the house. There are two full bathrooms available in the house. The store is located in the basement of the house. Two meals are cooked daily in the house. Unless we are busy then it is a tend to yourself kind of day! We also have a camper available. It is parked on the farm and has a friends camper parked next to it. We can provide the groceries required for your own cooking, or you could come up to the farm house for meals. .

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is plenty to see and do alone the Discovery Trail. We have many festivals and events, icebergs, whales, museums, hiking trails, food and dining, fishing, geology, fossils, shops, galleries, boat tours and theatre. Lots to see and do!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 936898497519