Help with English and Maths in Offinso, Ghana

  • 29 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 21 feb 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I am a Pastor and Educationist. I am 55 year with one wife and a daughter of 17 years. I was sent as a missionary in the Ashanti Region of Ghana in 1996. I was to send the Gospel and plant Churches in the area. The project has a vision of reaching the unreached now with the Gospel of the Lord and meeting some of the need of the community we are serving. Be it health , educational, social and many more.
    During my survey i identified a village where there was no Church, no good drinking water, no electricity ,no School no development at all. I was moved and had compassion for them so decided to plant a church and meet some of their needs. In 1998 i planted the a church there and started to meeting their need. In the year 2000 they had Electricity through the District Assembly. They have one bore whole to serve the community
    The road to the village was not accessible but it's now through.
    THE SCHOOL PROJECT
    Since there was no School the children who are interested have to travel about 3 kilometers to a nearby village where there was a school. The rest accompany their parents to the farm which is their major occupation. The Children do not have the educational right .Because of the distance the lucky who will have the opportunity to go to school must be about 8 years.
    I saw this as a challenge and started a School project in the year 2001. Two years later it was hit by a rainstorm to a collapse. I was financially down so i could not raise it again until 2010 when i revisited the vision. Now we admit children from 2 years upwards. The parent are happy to see the school because
    1. They can now leave their children in a safe hand to go to their farms.
    2. We don't charge any fees they only pay a small feeding fee.
    3. They are happy to see their children being educated.
    STAFF STRENGTH
    At the Moment we have 10 Paid staff: 6 teachers teaching (nursery, Kindergaten 1, Kindergaten 2, Class 1,class 2, class 3 and class 4). 1 driver, 1 cook, 1 attendant who help taking care of the nursery class and 1 administrative staff.
    I am staying in a 3 bedroom and a hall apartment with my wife and daughter. I have guest rooms for visitors. I use Water closets type of toilet and electricity is available.
    CULTURAL EXCHANGE: I would like to introduce : 1.Our native language (TWI) to the Volunteer so that he can speak one or two to feel accepted by the community. 2. How we dress and organize our funerals. 3.Our major food call FUFU and other food like Ampesi, Banku and many more.
    We have a lot of places of touristic interest which we can visit. 1. The Kintampo Water falls where water falls from the rocks in the natural way, 2. Monkey Sanctuary- where monkey live in their natural habitat.3. Cape Coast and Elmina Castles where Slave trade was made in the early history of Gold Coast now Ghana.4. Kakum National park where a canopy is built on top of trees which we can walk on it. 5.Lake Bosomtwe in the Ashanti Region where there is a natural lake surrounded by 28 villages. 6. Museums of historical leaders of the Ashanti Kingdom and many more.
    The Volunteer will be part of my family so we will do everything together, visiting friends, going out for events like funeral, marriage ceremonies and many more. Volunteers are welcome!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Hostelería/turismo
    Ayuda informática
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ghana and Offinso in particular is a place to be. The rich culture of the Ashanti Kingdom is desirable.
    1. The way we dress
    2. How we celebrate our festivals
    3 How we sing and dance.
    4. How we organize our funerals
    5. How we use the drums to talk and many more.
    I will be very happy to know the culture of the workawayer
    I would like the visitor feels that he is part of the family so we do everything together.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    1. At the moment we need some volunteers who will help in teaching ENGLISH and Maths in short term.
    The school is from Nursery, Kindergarten 1 and 2, class 1, 2 3 and 4.
    2. We may also need volunteers who will help the Classrooms building project.
    3. Most of the girls in the village are victims of rape and other abuses. We have given their children scholarship and trying to empower these Singled Mothers to be self sustaining to make life meaningful. We need a volunteer to help the Women Empowerment program
    4. A volunteer can help in the Child Sponsorship Project.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I want to learn some languages like German and Dutch. I know a little French and i would be happy to polish it. I would like to share my language with the Volunteer.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    I stay in a 3 bedroom and a hall apartment with my wife and daughter. One guest room is there to accommodate any volunteer. We have a water closets type of toilet, a bathroom and a kitchen. My wife is a food vendor so food is not a problem at all in my house. I would like to stay with a volunteer.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    At the volunteer leisure time he or she can visit a lot of place to learn our culture. There are a lot of Touristic attractive places to visit if one wants to. We have Lake Bosomtwe, a beautiful lake surrounded by 28 villages. The Kakum National park, Kintampo Mokey Santuary. The rich culture of the Ashantis and Ghana at large is so amazing. There are transportation available either by Trotro or by taxi all the time.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 771714145287

Comentarios (2)


Fotos

Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicación: (5.0)




Stay with the amazing kids. Home away from home, Ghana
Teach Spanish or German, IT(Coding&Robotics) and exchange cultures with us in Tema, Ghana