Welcoming volunteers in central Portugal

Country

Portugal

actualizado  

57 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    15/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Help needed from now from January 2022 until mid March 2022

    We are Sally and David a retired English couple of 57 and 68, and have been living in Portugal for six years.

    We are located in central Portugal, near the river Zêzere, and 19km from the town of Pedrogão Grande, an hour and a half from Coimbra and two hours from Figueira da Foz on the coast.

    We are renovating an old house and live in a small village which we love very much, the people are very kind and friendly, and the community hub of the village is the local café where they serve good food and wine.

    When not working on the renovation Sally is a keen walker and artist, and David likes playing his harmonica and tinkers with old classic cars which he is currently renovating.

    We are both hands on people and especially David, he was a plumber and electrician, however he developed Rheumatoid Arthritis about 12 years ago and we are now finding it difficult for just the two of us.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Central Portugal is a world apart from Lisbon or the Algarve, the lifestyle is simple and rustic, with the majority of people living off the land and enjoying a community based café culture.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Two renovation projects: our house and a classic car (Ford Taunus).

    We are looking for workawayers who are flexible and willing to turn their hand to a variety of tasks.

    Ideally we would like workawayers who have both an interest in helping to renovate our house and also renovating old cars, David would like help with renovating a Ford Taunus.

    We need help with installing two bathrooms, outside blockwork, painting and decorating, sanding floors, installing a spiral staircase to our attic area, stud walling, laying slate for outside patio areas, so any experience in blockwork or bricklaying, carpentry, plumbing, painting or general labouring are most welcome BUT mainly the willingness to have a go.

    We would like workawayers who are looking for length of stays of between two and four weeks.

    We are open to either couples (friends or partners) or single workawayers, but prefer no children.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante
    Portugués: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will have a bedroom with shared bathroom facilities. You will be provided with 3 meals a day 7 days a week, self-serve breakfast of cereal or toast, rolls for lunch, and a cooked dinner in the evening generally served between 6pm and 7pm. Occasionally we may ask you to cook your own dinner if we are out for any reason, other than that Sally will cook evening meals and you will be expected to help with washing up on a rota basis.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Activities – for summer swimming we are 3km, 6km and 10km from the nearest river beaches all with café bars. If you’re a walker/hiker then there are some lovely walks and I can suggest different routes. If you’re into cycling then likewise there are good routes and roads for cycling. We are in the schist villages’ area with museums and villages to visit. Depending on the time of year there is kayaking and different water sports available not too far away, and river boat trips.

    Nearby amenities – the nearest main town is Pedrogão Grande which is a 20 min drive or 40 min bus journey (it goes around the villages). In this town are the normal amenities such as supermarket, banks, post office, library, cinema, cafes, general shops, and a mainline bus station. We are only an hour and a half away from Coimbra, and two hours from the coast, Figueira da Foz.

    In the village – we have a cafe/restaurant/shop which is open Tuesday to Sunday and is only a five minute walk from the house. There is also a little supermarket in the next village which is 3km.

    In the house – we have fiber optic WiFi.

    TRANSPORT: You can travel by bus from our village to the towns of Pedrogão Grande, Coimbra, Gois, and Lousã – HOWEVER – there is only one service a day, which leaves the village at 7.15am and returns late afternoon – and it is only a Monday to Friday service. If you wish to go further afield then once you have reached these larger towns you can take Rede Expressos buses which go all over Portugal at a very reasonable cost, also in Coimbra you can get a train. At present I am not sure of bus timetables due to Covid-19.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Small campervan

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Five hours a day, five days a week.

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.7)

Intercambio cultural: (4.3)

Comunicación: (5.0)







Número de referencia de anfitrión: 919644399589