Come and breathe the fresh clean air of Central Portugal!

Country

Portugal

19 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/05/2020

 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi, we are Eve and Genny (mother, 60 and daughter, 31) and we moved to central Portugal from Canada about 18 months ago, to start a new life in a beautiful, quiet natural place. At the moment, Genny has had to return to Canada for several months and now I (Eve) need some extra help, preferably a couple, to help take care of the garden, animals and general maintenance around the property.

    The land is just over one hectare with two houses, utility sheds, several fields, fruit and olive trees, and a vegetable garden—all of which sits on a beautiful slope overlooking a spectacular view of the area’s rolling hills.

    We have 3 dogs, 2 cats, and 3 chickens so it goes without saying that you must love animals and know how to take care of them.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Being in central Portugal is a unique experience because life here doesn't seem to have changed much in the past 30-40 years. Of course, there is technology available (we have wifi and mobile phone signals), but the locals here approach life with the same approach and traditions as the generations before. There is much to see and experience from a cultural and historic perspective, not to mention appreciating the raw, natural beauty of the countryside. In the summer, there is always a "festa" going on in a nearby village where you can mingle with the locals, dance and eat the famous grilled piri-piri chicken! As well, there are usually musical and other cultural events taking place nearby.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    - Help caring for the animals (3 dogs, 2 cats, 3 chickens). This includes feeding, collecting eggs, cleaning out the hen house occasionally, ensuring chickens have sufficient clean water, taking dogs (and sometimes cats!) for daily walks)
    - Clearing up parts of land that were razed by the recent forest fires
    - Collecting, chopping, and splitting wood
    - Tending to and improving the garden: watering, weeding, planting,
    - General maintenance of property (strimming, trimming trees, etc)
    - Repairs/construction (understanding of hand tools, construction/masonry/carpentry a real asset)

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    French: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation is a separate, self-contained guest house, which has a fully equipped kitchen, bathroom (shower only), 2 bedrooms (double bed), wifi, satellite TV. Meal arrangements are flexible - either shared with us, or we can provide food (including fresh eggs and fruit/veggies from our garden when available) to prepare your own.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The nearest small town (Cardigos) is 3km away where you will find small supermarket, bank, post-office, pharmacy/medical centre. The next biggest town is Sertã, about 20 mins drive away, where there is a larger variety of shops and services, as well as a movie theatre, lots of nice places to dine, or just to sit outside and enjoy a glass of beer or glass wine alongside the river.
    Locally, there are several beautiful, natural and well-maintained river beaches and plenty of opportunities to go hiking, camping, and kayaking.
    There is a bus from Lisbon to Vila da Rei or Sertã (about 3 hr trip) and we could arrange to pick up and bring people to the bus station there.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 891717687739