Come and join our permaculture and Off-Grid project in Sabugal, Portugal

Country

Portugal

124 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    23/06/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    About me:
    Hi! My name is Carlos, I'm 41 and I'm portuguese. I grew up in Montijo, I went to college in Lisbon to study computer sciences and I started to work as a programmer. 6 years later I started to feel meaningless and took a leave of absence. I did volunteer work in organic farms in Sweden and France and went to Thailand to teach English in a public school in a small village. I came back to give a second chance to my job but after 3 years I decided to quit for good. Already with some land in the countryside of Portugal I started a journey in Portugal for one year to know about eco-farming and permaculture. It was hard to settle down in my primitive place so I went back to Thailand to the same school wishing to help those children in their English and football skills. Two years ago I came to establish and develop my land. I planted some trees, made some vegetable patches, produced cider, wine, olive oil, jams, I dried figs, tomatos and apples, etc.. And last year did it all better with the help of nice volunteers. I'm a quiet person but I really enjoy to use my human qualities in a group.

    About the project:
    I bought this land in 2014 while I was still working in Lisbon. After a short attempt in 2016, I finally settled down in 2018. Last year a fire burnt half of the land and the house was safe by millimeters. I took it like I should continue this project but carefully.
    My idea is to become as much self-sufficient as possible while helping nature to thrive and to share a possible solution for the problems humanity will face in this planet. For me, permaculture is the best answer for a lot of the current problems. The project is still in the beginning. I believe it's a good place for who's thinking how to start their own because we're still dealing with the first challenges. And it's a great learning to go throught all the processes. Money here is definitely not the priority. Restoring diversity and keeping people happy are the most important. I'm open for your ideas and creative skills. This is a great place to find peace and slow down.

    These are the main goals for this project at a long term:
    - Produce own food, energy
    - Create a community with volunteers
    - Outdoor cafe with natural products shop
    - Eco buildings to rent like Wood Cabin, Yurt, Choça (google it), Strawbale house, Root cellar
    - Other ideas that come up :)

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico
    Ayuda con animales
    Projecto artístico

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This is a remote region in Portugal. The food is more authentic than in the urban centers and people keep some traditions expressed in events and fairs. I also buy products to the locals that can still make a good fresh goat cheese or homemade wine. I can tell you about portuguese culture, my travels, permaculture and other philosofical ideas. I'm curious to know about yours too.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I keep a list of tasks for myself that I'll share with you. Might be work outside or some improvements in the living conditions. There will always be something to pick from. Or other with higher priority like collecting wood or harvest some fruit, cooking, watering. Here are the main harvests, products and general tasks:

    Dez/Jan: Olives for oil and preserve. Deodorant. Seed sowing.
    Feb/Mar: Mulching
    Abr/Mai:
    Jun/Jul: Tomatos to dehydrate and chutney. Trees' watering. Camomile to dry.
    Aug/Sep: Tomatos. Figs to dry. Blackberries for jam, liquor and syrup. Grapes for wine and sweet wine. Apples for cider and dehydrate. Wood storage. Trees' watering.
    Oct/Nov: Chestnuts. Quinces for marmalade. Seed collection. Trees plantation.

    We also produce kombucha all year round flavoured with what's abundant at the time and sow/plant the seasonal vegetables.

    Upcoming Projects:
    *️️️️️ Ferrocement tank
    *️️️️️ Works at home (new window, insulation with straw, wooden ceiling)
    *️️️️️ Portable Chicken Coop
    *️️️️️ Clay Oven
    *️️️️️ A-frame cabin

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Fluido
    Portuguese: Fluido
    French: Principiante
    Thai: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    My small shed allows that one or two more people sleep in a matress in the living room. I also have a tent outside where usually couples prefer to stay.

    The electricity comes from solar panels and the water from springs. We don't use gas. Just wood.
    I have a compost toilet and a solar handmade heater. In the winter we heat the water with wood. We prepare the meals together.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The transports here are not good but I have a car. During the summer we go almost every day to some river beach or a beautiful lake in the afternoons where we swim or fish. Historical villlages with stone houses and organic markets are also places I would like to take you.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.7)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 543453243425