Help us reconstruct our old house close to Berlin, Germany



89 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas


 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    Hej Hej!
    We are Carla and Hanso plus our Kids Mathilda and Jona and we started to reconstruct our charming old house in February 2020. The house wich used to be a horse staple long time ago is located in Oranienburg (a small city very close to Berlin). Hanso is a carpenter and I am an architect so we do the planing and the work at the building lot almost completely without companys. We try to work with natural materials like wood and clay and reconstruct in general the most environmental friendly we can.

    The house has a big garden wich needs some treatment and even though the neighborhood belongs to a small city its in a more village style area surrounded by nature and some canals. There is a lake reachable in 15 to 20 minutes by bike.

    As long as we reconstruct the house we live in Berlin and usually work at the weekend in Oranienburg. At the weekend we also stay for the night at the house. For the days we won’t be there we always have a list of tasks for our helpers and there is time to visit Berlin, Oranienburg, the countryside and some lakes.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We share our knowledge as an architect and carpenter and can teach some things about building and reconstruction. For some time we already concentrate on sustainable solutions for building projects in general. We are happy to work together in a festival style and communicative setting.
    What is really special about the spot is the connection between landscape and city. While the house is surrounded by nature (and some neighbors) the capital Berlin is not to far away (30-40 minutes by train/subway to hot spots). Also Oranienburg is a small but interesting city.

  • Ayuda


    The work we have takes place inside and outside the house and is very manifold. It can be for example:
    build brick walls
    clean old bricks to reuse them
    remove old and destroyed parts
    screw something
    paint wood with 100% ecological preserver
    remove concrete with a roto hammer
    remove slackly parts from the brick walls
    dig something out in the garden
    carry materials
    cut wood with details for the fassade/roof
    close joints with masonry mortar
    water plants in the garden
    cut or remove plants
    Child care (only sometimes)

    We are looking for people who can support us with power and strength. If you bring skills in natural building, renovation or reconstruction that would be great. If you are willing to learn it’s also perfect! It’s important to know that our project is a building lot and the work can be physically tough and dusty.

    We don’t need child care for our absolutely cool kids all the time. Only some periods when the Kita is closed (summer closing) or maybe some weekends when the grandparents can not take care.

  • Idiomas hablados

    German: Fluido
    English: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    We offer veggi food and accommodation.

    It’s possible to sleep in a tent in summer or in a room in the caravan from march or april until october or november depending on the weather. For the tent we can offer you an air bed if needed. In the kitchen we have an oven, a water heater, a microwave, a fridge and a freezer. We have a warm garden shower and an ecological compost toilet.

    We offer bikes for being flexible.

    At the weekend we provide vegetarian meals for everyone often and during the week the Workawayers have to buy food at a nearby supermarket. Dependent on how many people will stay during the week we will give you an amount of money that fits
    the number of helpers for the food shopping. Or we bring basic things from the supermarket.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You need clothes that can get dirty and if you have please bring safety shoes. If the size fits we can also offer you safety boots. We offer safety glasses, ear protection and tools.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a good wifi connection and space for working.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    It’s possible to park on our ground or just in front of our ground in the forest.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25 hours a week. 2-3 days off.

building lot
future living room
building lot
on the open roof
view from the kitchen to terrace
entrance to the garden shower
workaway bbq
hosting family
surrounded by nature

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 862984737556