Handy adventurers welcome for the renovation of our magnificent train station in the Harz, Germany



127 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
    Super Host
  • Descripción


    HI! Nice to meet you guys!!! We are Edward (51 years young) and Ingrid (54 years young), Dutch and since September 2020 we live in Ballenstedt, where we bought an old and dilapidated train station. We instantly fell in love with the building and its historical details, which have many stories to tell. Ballenstedt is located in the beautiful area of the Harz, in the former East Germany.

    The town of Ballenstedt is small (9,500 inhabitants), but has a beautiful castle that is also related to our train station. Tourist places like Quedlinburg (UNESCO World Heritage Site), Wernigerode and Thale (with mountains) are close by, as well as trendy cities like Leipzig, Magdeburg (1 and 1.5 hours) and Berlin (3 hours). You can do wonderful biking and hiking in the area.

    Since July 2020, we have been working on the mega job and we would like to invite you to help us and have adventures with us. We have already had fantastic help from workaway people (Marta, Justin, Steph, Claudia, Jesus, Bryan, Matteo, Pavels, Estefania and Margot) and love the Workaway platform of getting to know other people and cultures. Ingrid has been a Workawayer herself.

    2020 was all about demolition, 2021 was all about building and in 2022 it will be building and finishing. Do you feel like painting, carpentry, building walls or working in the garden? There are plenty of different jobs to do, where fun is paramount.

    We are open, honest, enthusiastic, welcoming and love challenges. A railway station is always a lively place of people from all over the world who have their own life stories. This is what we also want to achieve with our station (unfortunately without rails, but with a nice bike path). We like to connect people at our station and contribute to their travel stories.

    Our English is very good, our German good (and getting better) and Ingrid also speaks a little French, Italian and Spanish.

    Sleeping in the station is not yet possible, but 75 meters away we have a spacious apartment with 2 spacious guest rooms. Of course you become part of our life and we like to take the Workawayers everywhere (if you want of course).

    Our project is receiving a lot of attention from the Dutch and German media. We have even been on Dutch television:

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The Workaways are becoming a part of our lives. We really enjoy involving the Workayers in our daily activities and our social life. At the station you will get to know the different German and Dutch Workayers. Outside of that, you may also join us in visiting our (Dutch and German) friends and family. Of course we also take day trips to explore the surroundings of Ballenstedt.

  • Ayuda


    We would love some help with

    -building of new walls and floors ect
    -painting (doors, windows, walls, sealing ect)
    - tiling
    -restoring stained glass (if you have those skills, you are more than welcome)

    And more ...

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Español: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante
    Italiano: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    The station building is not yet habitable, but we have a rental apartment just steps from the station. We have 2 guest rooms, each with 2 more beds. Of course there is a (shared) bathroom, with toilet and shower. In the large living room we have a comfortable sofa, chairs and a television, perfect for relaxing.

    We will make sure that you lack nothing and provide you with plenty of breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, drinks and of course fun! Of course we take you into account and together we make the shopping list for the supermarket.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We have a passenger van for 8 people, so after work we can arrange fun trips to explore the nature and cultural wealth of the area. Unfortunately, there is no longer a railroad line in front of our station, but there is a bus station right next to our building, with good bus connections to the various places around Ballenstedt. Train stations are located in Quedlinburg and Hoym-Nachterstedt.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    In our rental apartment, a stone's throw from the train station, we have 100 MB of internet, enough to stream movies, make video calls and work online. Of course we have some desks you can sit at.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.9)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 199615586232