Share your language with us (Hebrew a bonus) on the island of Orkney, UK

  • Gran Bretaña
  • 35 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 21 ago 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos



  • Descripción


    Hola, Shalom, hello 👋🏾
    My name is Freyja, I am 31 and I live with my daughter Noa on the island of Orkney. I live a peaceful life but also love to dance, socialise and chat. We love new cultures, nature, hiking, camping, writing, ayurveda, and essential oil. I love people who shine with kindness and an open mind. If you love to dance we will get on I am sure 😉 most of friends here are in their forties. Orkney is a place where many age ranges mix.
    I accept everyone with an open heart if they are as open minded as we are but for the sake of my small house and my daughter I am only accepting women age 34 plus for now.

    I have travelled in Israel, Spain and India. I cook with many spices and love essential oil. (I hope this is okay for anyone who comes to stay.) Recently I have also begun studying the art of mime which was a childhood passion along with performing. Noa is a baby who is currently still breast feeding. She was an unplanned beautiful being who entered my life in December 2022. She is half Israeli yemeni, so if a Hebrew speaker is available we will be very lucky. Otherwise we love French, German, Spanish! Many languages.

    This island can be cold, isolated and dark in Winter and yet it's beauty is unique and a little rough around the edges. Us Orcadians like to think we have viking blood which helps us survive the long cold dark winters, that being said the Summers are full of long light nights and warmer weather if you are lucky. I am quite outdoorsy but since having Noa I haven't been on the bike as much. I like outdoorsy people and walking and I just take Noa along in the sling most of the time (something about the buggy makes me feel too mumsy but we use it sometimes)

    There is plenty to do here if you like walking, archaeology and or biking/ have a car. It's better to have a car to explore the whole island. I don't yet own a car but hope to soon but for the envronments sake I try to walk as much as I can. I would like to get around via motorbike one day! With a baby not so convenient for now!

    We spend our days reading books, practising Ivrit (Hebrew) walking (mostly the beach but I would love to visit more mountains) listening to music, cooking and watching sesame street in various languages, and ou favorite river dance (I love Flamenco and Irish dancing the most) and Marcel Marceau.

    I love yoga but have practised little since being pregnant. I would quite like to get back into this. I love to get to know open minded lovely peaceful people from around the world. Before I had Noa I was a traveller myself. Who knows I might continue this journey with her.

    I am using this site in the hope to host female workawayers (sorry about this but it's what I feel comfortable with given that I live with just my daughter) in an ideal world I would find someone who likes babies (Noa was born in December 2022) and who speaks Hebrew but other languages are also welcome (Spanish, German and French all beautiful for me) as Others with similar interests can apply too. I love many languages and new cultures. I like meeting new people but your time can be yours too. I don't want anyone getting bored here. This can be an isolating island! I don't really mind if you want to just go off and do your own thing and use the room. If you want to sort out my garden feel very free
    It's very small but I have no time with Noa.

    I am Jewish (not practising just spiritual in the mother nature sense of the meaning) and Noa's father is Yemeni Israeli
    but he lives in Israel. We are not together (he left us 3 weeks before her birth for another woman to be very open, which has put me off dating men for a very long time)
    I am learning Hebrew but by no means am I fluent enough to pass it on to Noa. In an ideal world a fluent Israeli Hebrew speaker will show up but I would also love her to be able to speak Spanish or French am working on learning myself too. We are planning our own trips to Spain, Argentina, France, Austria and Israel but I also just really want to explore Europe with her. We need to save to do this so in the meantime I hope to welcome people into our cosy home.

    I love animals and I think to bring one dog to the house is okay but I would have to check with my landlady (she has a dog so I don't see a problem)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will receive a cosy room in a cosy house free of charge in exchange for speaking Hebrew, Spanish, German or French (or another langauge) a little around me and my daughter. I privately rent my place so can't accept anyone staying for too long period of time.

    What you want to learn is up to you. I am here to provide a place to stay and hopefully make a friend for life. As I am a full time mother I can't party as I used to (though still a little with the odd German beer) but I have friends here in their twenties all the way into their 50s and we all enjoy the long light summer nights. I tend to take Noa with me wherever I go but occasionally she stays with my mother for a few hours.

  • Au pair

    Ayuda au pair

    This host has let us know they’ll be complying with UK regulations for au pair stays.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    I am hoping to learn Hebrew but more than this I want my daughter to be exposed to it. It's quite hard to find Hebrew speakers so of course Spanish, German, French or other languages always nice too.

    A couple of hours a day playing and communicating with her in Hebrew or another language is more than enough. You would not be asked to care for her without me around or change nappies ect. Just communication is enough and not every day is necessary. I can be flexible. I would rather make friends than have anyone feel like they are working. Orkney is make up of lots of small islands and therefore you may wish to explore or camp on those islands too. It may be more fun to come with a friend for this. I would also accept somebody with a child but don't have a large house but if that's okay with you a child is also welcome. If you like gardening this is a bonus (the garden needs work but it's tiny)

    In exchange for some language sharing, I have a small house which I rent from my lovely landlord with one spare room in the heart of the town Stromness. I have a bath and shower.
    I hope to make friends and exchange languages and culture. Maybe share a glass of wine or a few beers and I'm happy to hang out too, but your time here is yours as much as you like.
    I can't afford to cover all food costs but happy to cook together if you like. I love making ayurvedic Indian dishes, and learning new recipes.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Hebrew: Intermedio
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Language is one of my biggest passions. I love reading too and my mother owns a tiny little independang bookshop here on the island. I meet many German speaking women in the bookshop over the tourist season and the sound is very beautiful.

  • Alojamiento


    An attic bedroom with a single bed in a three story tiny (but very cosy) cottage.

    The kitchen/living room has a fire and a sofa on the floor.

    I can't provide food but happy to share costs or cook together if you wish.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Busses run regularly in Stromness but a car is very ideal here, or a bike if you prefer will also get you around the island.

    Orkney is famous for archeology and wildlife (if you are lucky you may spot Orca) Most recently we have been put on the map since the release of Amy Liptrot's book "The Outrun" which is about to be released as a film adaptation starring Saoirse Ronan.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Digital nomads welcome. I have good Internet

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day. 4 or 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 832747539474

Comentarios (1)


Spend time with my 11-year old daughter in Brighton, UK
Stay and be a part of our family, outside Edinburgh, Scotland, UK