Join me sailing from Mobile Alabama to Key West Florida

Country

Estados Unidos

125 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    16/01/2022

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Ahoy adventurers,

    I'm "Captain" Jack, a novice sailboat skipper looking for helping hands on deck. This opportunity would be best for people that have wanted to learn how to sail and all that the lifestyle entails. My sloop is a 1971 Morgan 28. The boat can technically accomadate 5 guests which would be a tight fit but fun/funny in my opinion but hosting 2 people at a time is more realistic and likely but I'm open to more.

    I'm a laidback guy and this voluteer arrangment would be relaxed.

    UPDATE (October 22th, 2021) : I'm ready to host again. Currently in Mobile Alabama. Looking for Workawayers starting November 10th. So far I've hosted four workawayers as well as friends and family. I started in Muskegon Michigan, sailed up to Lake Superior, sailed all the way down to Chicago, then dropped the mast and motored down the rivers to Mobile AL. I plan to leave Mobile on November 11 or 12 and hop along the west coast of Florida all the way down to Key West. Might go to Dry Tortugas as well. I think it'll take two weeks. TBH I don't know exactly how long it'll take it depends on weather and how long we stay in various ports. I'm not in a rush and you shouldn't be either. Once I get to Key West I think I'll probably get a job for a month or two and then continue cruising to the Bahamas and beyond.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I'll teach you how to sail. There could be many other non sailing skills that you'll gain such as carpentry, sewing, painting, navigation, sustainable electrical congifuration, fishing, etc

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    There are two projects I'll need help with that'll take at most 2 hours.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Guests would sleep in either the vberth, saloon conversion bed, starboard berth or a hammock outside. There isn't much privacy in these sleeping arrangments. Living on a sailboat like this is really just a level up from camping. Unfortunately there is a good chance it could be uncomfortably warm. If it's windy it'll be fine. If not, I have two really weak fans but they probably wouldn't even last a full night before running out of battery haha...

    We'll have to split the cost of food. I don't mind accommadating towards the diet of the volunteers. I was vegan for a number of years but now I'm more of a freegan/flexitarian. I'd like to to catch and cook fish so I might slightly favor volunteers that are into that idea. But TBH I'm the laziest fisherman so fish based diet is unlikely. I have a small 22 quart fridge and multiple stoves. Cooking is kinda difficult while underway.

    My boat is private and there won't be any paying guests.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    When the boat is in the water time off is hard to define because you won't necessarily be working, you'd be helping me sail, which for the right person isn't work but rather a fun exciting adventure.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 824842245862