Help around our home, building and creative projects with our animals and pets in beautiful South Iceland

Country

Islandia

actualizado  

1065 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    39  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    79.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
Contacto Registro
  2019 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello workawayers, WE ARE NOT SEARCHING FOR HELP UNTIL NEXT SUMMER. MESSAGE US THEN.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Please read our profile to the very end and CHECK OUR CALENDAR for availability BEFORE you send us a message.

    We are mixed nationality couple in our 30s with an Icelandic momma, living in the most beautiful part of South Iceland and in walking distance of the black sand beaches. We have some animals- especially two dogs who love to play, family horses to ride in summer months and some livestock we keep for meat for ourselves. We love to meet new people through this site and have built some wonderful friendships over time. It´s nice to meet volunteers who are interested in upskilling or sharing their skills, an interest in how things work in Iceland and also exploring local nature and culture in their free time. We also like to learn from others how things work in their home and if you have skills to share. We don't take volunteers year round anymore and never over Christmas or New Year. Tasks vary with the seasons.

    There are two houses here and no really young children except our puppy(born 2017) Odi. Other family members visit some weekends and there can be a lot of activity between both houses. There are usually between 4-8 people here depending on who is visiting. Our multicultural family is Icelandic, Irish,Polish and usually 1 volunteer. We all communicate though English so a good standard is necessary to avoid chaos. If you are searching for an Icelandic immersion experience this is not the place for you.

    We are located in the countryside about a 20 minute drive from the nearest town. Volunteers need to be able to keep themselves entertained in their free time and must be comfortable with some degree of solitude or happily mixing between social time with us or your private time. We are surrounded by panoramic beauty which is perfect for hikes when Icelandic weather permits. The puffins nest nearby in the summer and we have an open air theater for Northern lights in the winter.
    *️️*️️*️️ A side note about volunteering in Iceland during certain months of the year. In May June and July we have 24hours of daylight while in December and January we have 4-5 hours in total per day.
    Weather from November to March can be tough at times because of snow blizzards and or strong winds. Roads can close for a day or so preventing travels. Volunteers here during this time need to be flexible and able to cope with being indoors more than they are used to
    .
    Volunteers will have a private bedroom in one of two houses. Food is really expensive in Iceland so we provide basics along with our own beef and lamb meat and eggs. We have a meaty diet, but vegetarians have come here and survived or willingly converted. We have our ways of eating and if you message us it means you have read this and are OK with red meat. People who are too demanding regarding specialised diets will be asked to find another host. If you have any allergy that is ok, just let us know in your first message. There's a family member with a severe fish allergy so pescatarians keep searching for a host.

    This is a busy little home with many varied tasks. We are searching for volunteers who are able to help us independently or with others as needed. People who are mindful and pleasant to live and work with. We value individuals who are motivated, detail oriented and can sometimes act on their own initiative to get things done. Good communication skills, a positive attitude and a sense of humour are essential; we can teach you all the rest.

    We don't smoke and prefer non smokers. We drink a little beer and are drug free. We value the same.

    There is a lot of nice feedback from our previous volunteers and I must stress that this is not utopia. We do our best but we are not perfect people. Where we live is more isolated than what you might be used to, so please ask yourself if being comfortable with your own company or in the company of the same 4or 5 people is for you before you request to stay. We work very hard and take care of our animals. In the evening we are usually very tired. The kind people who have left us those nice reviews were all creative and independent thinkers who could find their own entertainment here and showed up to help us.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales
    Projecto artístico

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Anyone with an open mind can both learn and share a lot. We can share our skills in languages, cooking, horsemanship, animal husbandry, building projects and new friendships.

    We must emphasize that we want mindful people with a cooperative nature to contact us. This is our home and mental health so anyone disruptive will be asked to find something more suitable to their needs with another host . Also, we want people to be fully aware that we are not far from town but still quite isolated maybe compare to what you are used to, especially during winter months.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Task overview

    - Light housekeeping of the spaces you are using, including general maintenance- painting and assembling replacement furniture,
    -Feeding our animals - chickens, rabbits, about 15 sheep and occasionally bottle feeding calves and their daily care, unlimited time playing with the dogs
    - Spring and Summer riding horses for fun, for riders with experience guiding other animals to pastures on horseback.
    - Seasonal projects repairing fences, gardening,

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    Icelandic, English, Danish, German, Swedish, Norwegian, a little Spanish

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Private bedroom in one of two family homes side by side, shared living and kitchen facilities

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live just by the south shore of Iceland, with famous landmarks Dyrhólaey and Reynisdrangar only a short distance away. To the north of our home lies the majestic Mýrdalsjökull. The beach, along with the wide open expanse of the North-Atlantic only a five minutes stroll away from home.

    Within a three hours driving distance are for instance the glacier lagoon Jökulsárlón, the volcano Eyjafjallajökull which erupted in 2010, the national park Skaftafell, Iceland's capital Reykjavík, Þingvellir national park and numerous other landmarks and cultural sites.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    max¡mum 4-5 hours, 5 days a week - most days in the morning, with the afternoons free.






























Número de referencia de anfitrión: 799811218793