Join our small family to become a gardener for one nature cycle in Nedsaja Village, Estonia

Country

Estonia

actualizado  

191 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    12  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    04/12/2020

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    427

  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello! We are Merili, Mikk and Taavet, and we have a small place in the middle of the forests in Nedsaja Village, Põlva County, Estonia. We currently have an adorable dog Arno and a cat Mammu. The location itself is one of the wildest in Estonia. It is really next to Russian border.

    This year(2021) we are building a farm-house. We know that it will be a great adventure. Also we have noticed that we have many other tasks too to fulfill and we just can’t make time for everything. This is why I am adding this profile here. We are searching for a gardening talent. Someone who knows his/her way in the garden and wishes to grow food for one nature cycle from start to finish. We do have a lot of knowledge about this and we can share our knowledge with a person who really wishes to do this.

    Conditions in the farm are humble and basic. We have an outdoor DC (dry closet), and we get clean in our magical sauna or since this year we're also renting an apartment in the nearest town which means - a shower! and a washing machine! From this year we also have a caravan in the yard that is filled with all the modern luxury it also includes a modern and small kitchen. This is where the family is staying, but for starting it gives a nice place for cooking.

    Our eating habits are simple and we tend to eat mainly vegetables, with the exeption of occasional fish and we dig ecological lifestyle. Everything we grow is organic and we are really trying to get the most out of everything we use or make.

    With every year we get more and more nature wise. This means that we are really passionate about plants around us and how to use them for tea, food or whatever we need. We collect lot of food and herbs from the nature for winter-supplies.

    Since we really live in an amazing place in the nature sence then we are not using many chemicals that are really common in beauty products. So no fluoride for us. We provide you good and ecological and all natural beauty and body products in sauna.

    MAIN PROJECT this year for volunteers:
    To fill our veggie permaculture garden and a greenhouse with plants. And to take care of them. Also harvest the food in autumn. And everything that goes with this. Lot of sweaty and rewarding work. It is a work that goes for a moto - what you sow, you reap.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Travelers can learn about Estonian nature, culture and history and about the unique Seto culture. I am the village chief and am arranging many activities and social events in Nedsaja village. You are welcomed to join us.
    Also we can share our knowledge on living off of the land, and what we know about farming, animals, plants and life and love overall.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Experience has shown that the best volunteer for our farm is adventurous soul who has some knowledge to offer. Or is really enthusiastic about farm life and has positive attitude towards life. Plus the thing that he or she likes to work individually or with another volunteer. In the meaning that we have our dayjobs. This means that we are not always in the farm. But we love to spend time with our volunteers daily.

    Before writing to us ask yourself - what kind of workaway experience I would love? We are really happy to be match for your dreams.

    We would love to find a same person or couple for 5-6 months. In the meaning that gardener or gardeners would actually start the garden project and finish this before leaving.
    Our greenhouse is half-permaculture and outside beds are original permaculture beds. With every year it is expanding more and more.

    This would teach you everything that there is to know of growing your own food:
    * preparing the land - spreading and digging in the poo, or covering the beds with straw.
    * planting the seeds
    * taking care of the plants - wheating, covering the beds with straw, making and adding natural liquids that give extra vitamins for plants(for example nettle tea etc)
    * collecting the food and preserving it for winter - at times it means that chillies need to be chopped and placed in a vinegar, other times it is the tomatoes that need to be dried and put into oil afterwards.
    * making seeds, drying them and packing them for next year

    *️️️️️️️ picking berries, mushrooms, herbs from the nature and preparing them for winter
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Drying plants and berries
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Helping with chores and with preparing food - it is great when you know how to cook from the things that you are growing :)

    There are always things to do on the farm, so projects and tasks may varie a bit.

    You Are Boss of your own time. We give you assignments and wish for 4 hour active work for 5 days a week(weekends are off). When and how you do it is up to you to decide.

  • Languages

    Idiomas hablados
    English: Fluido
    Estonian: Fluido
    French: Fluido
    Russian: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I have always wished to study Spanish and speak it fluently.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accomodation is possible in many ways.
    1. In the attic of sauna. It is a truly magical place, a bit further from our caravan and building site.
    Private and has electricity. In th attick there is just room for a mattress so no standing. It is possible to furnish the room before sauna and use this for standing activities. It is not built out yet. But a place that is with great perspectives.
    2. Sleeping in a tent + we have a really good hammock!
    Just let us know if you wish to stay in the tent because our neighbour's kids also love to stay in the tent during the warm nights of summer!
    3. Apartment in Värska - 10km away
    4. Something better that I cannot write out right now.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    With your time off, you can explore the local area - big forests and wild swomps. We can go hiking and tree climbing together. Buses and trains can take you to Värska, Tartu, Tallinn and many other areas. You can also use our sauna during your time off, as well as relax in the Värska Sanatorium and water center.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Our dog is really not friendly with other male-dogs. Also with some he has become friends. He is an alfa-dog.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4 active hours a day, 5 days a week

The beginning of growing season 2020
Greenhouse has 8 big beds inside and is about 60m2 in total size
Well-cleaning
My organic strawberries
Andy and Fanny, 2018 summer - goatsitting
Super-volunteer/friend Michael and Arno
Our log-house









Número de referencia de anfitrión: 783943772959