Social project helping young people through language practice, arts and education in Poconé, Brazil

Country

Brasil

23 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    24/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    This is a social project that aims to bring hope, self-love and opportunities to children and the younger population of Pantanal (luxurious wetland region of Brazil) with language practice, arts and cultural activities.

    This Project was created in the memory of my father, Sebastião - well known as Sabá - who educated his 6 sons and 2 daughters with love and respect during his stay on earth which lasted from 1928 till 1996.

    Love and respect are his legacy that the project wants to spread to the local community, which, as you may know, was recently affected by the biggest wildfire of the century in Pantanal.
    This region also has one of the lowest Human Development Index in Brazil, beside the fact the region is full of gold mine and a centre for cattle production; which results in a huge environmental and economic unequality.

    This Social Project was founded by (me) Flávio, youngest of Sabá son, who moved to Poconé in 2018 to teach geography in a local school. In 2019, I started to give Capoeira lessons to local childrens.
    Last year (2020) I was invited to help a local community center which is supporting families in need, it was then, that I decided to put this project into place and to gather more people. For this, I refurbished an old house where I am now living, and giving English classes to a small group of teenagers from the neighbourhood.

    We have also recently started an vegetables and local plants garden in the house patio, which we are hoping to see grow and thrive !

    Meanwhile, the project is focused on supporting families with food and personal hygiene products; maintaning the community centre and the house, helping with the remodelling of the house, and participating in cultural and artistic activities with the younger population of Poconé.

    So, if you feel inspired by this project, you can come visit and teach English (mainly, but.. why not other foreign language?), help in the maintenance and remodeling of our house, participate in any kind of artistic activity with the children and teenagers of the neighbourhood and help in the action plan to 2022-2023.

    We look forward for you to be taking part in this human adventure. I know that you will fall in love with our culture, welcoming spirit, food and kindness.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza
    Hostelería/turismo

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The Pantanal region one of the most visited sights in South America. Here, you will understand how do local communities are connect with the flow of the wetlands. Also, you will understand the dimension of scale of Brazil, since the city where the project is located is in the opposite side of the biggest cities, so, the culture, accent and lifestyles are very singular. It can be interesting to those who loves to experience new ways of life.

    If you are interested, we can also give you fishing, capoeira and drum first step lessons.

    There are opportunitinies for you to visit and maybe stay a few nights in the capital city of Cuibá, as well as the touristy town of Chapada (with beautiful waterfalls, a fresher climate and a very cute town centre), as I have family living there which I visit often.

    I treat the people coming to help with the project as I do my friends, you will have the opportunity to meet many new people and to make new friends. The project aims to share love and creativity to its community and it reflects in the way we welcome our guests.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We need teachers and educators or any kind of person who likes to interact with kids and young population. You can also help in the maintenance of the house and of the community center.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Portugués: Fluido
    Inglés: Intermedio
    Español: Intermedio
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I would like to study French a little bit more. I can help you with learning Portuguese.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There is a private room available for volonteers with a double bed and a single bed. It has a powerful fan, a several shelves and a desk for you to work on.

    The house is currently under refurbishment. For now there is only a shared room and bathroom, but in the close future we plan to have more options.

    The food supplies we can plan together, I'm flexible, but we can make a plan to share some expenses.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The project is located in the City of Poconé, very close to the main square where you can find restaurants, markets, medical care and much more. We dont have trains or uber, we do have taxi but it is expensive to use inside the city. We have 2 (two) bicycles that you can use.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a fast and stable internet connexion and there is a desk available in the bedroom you will stay in. You can also work on the terrasse at the back of the house if you prefer :).

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 3 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 771462275411