Need some help with our ongoing house projects and gardens near Alberobello, a world heritage site in Italy

Country

Italia

238 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    24  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    16/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are an English couple in our late 60's. We bought a ruin in 2003 and have spend the last 15 years bringing it back to life. Chris has recently had a quadruple heart bypass and is also now on dialysis so in unable to do the work he used to. Rosie is finding heavy jobs difficult and needs some strong hands to help out. We welcome anyone who loves the outdoor life and wants to join us for a week for a unique experience of living in our beautiful little trullo. We have found that hosting a couple works best for us. If you are a solo traveller or vegetarian we are sorry we can't help you but wish you good luck elsewhere.
    Previously we have worked with workaways as a team but now we are finding it increasingly difficult to keep up the pace. We are looking for workaways who are strong, able to work on their own initiative without supervision and are used to working on the land..
    If you have any expernce in nursing or healthcare it would be useful. Chris is recovering from his operations and needs help getting around.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Compañía para ancianos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Our trullo is quite isolated in beautiful countryside where you can find peace and tranquility. We enjoy fresh local produce and excellent wine of the area. Nearby is Alberobello, the centre of the 'zona di trulli' where over 1200 trulli present an amazing sight.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We have 4.5 acres of land with olive, cherry, almond and fruit trees, all of which need pruning and harvesting and a newly planted small vineyard that is proving to be a laborious project..,but some lovely wine has been produced! We also have some small raised beds which forever need weeding. Anyone with a desire to try their hand at dry stone walling would be welcome! Most of the work is manual so workaways should be fit and strong and willing to work outside most of the time. We are hoping to create a new gazebo area which will entail mixing concrete and building stone pillars. It would be a bonus if you can use a chainsaw or strimmer.
    We do not normally host solo travellers but exceptions can be made for someone with the right skills.
    Our trullo is small and we live a simple Eco life, collecting rain water which is stored in underground 'cisternas', therefore we do not waste water by long daily showers and washing up several times a day just for one cup. There are certain house rules to ensure the smooth running of this system. As we accept you as part of our 'trulli family' we do not consider washing up, helping to prepare meals, cleaning the shower after use and general housework part of the Workaway hours.
    Due to extra work for Rosie we are sorry but we do not accept vegetarians, vegan or those with special diets unless of course if you are a good cook and can teach Rosie how to cook for a diabetic husband on dialysis!
    Despite all the conditions above, you will be welcomed and appreciated here. Without workaways we will find our life here very demanding to keep our land tidy and not overgrown. Please come and enjoy what we have and share in our little Paradiso.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Italian: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Our trullo is quite small and has two bedrooms. The volunteers would have their own small room and shower room and also use of our swimming pool. Rosie is a good cook so you will be fed and watered well here! We are early to bed, early to rise people. Catching the early fresh air is important, especially in the summer months when temperatures can rise to 37 degrees by 10.30am. We would prefer workaways who like this sort of routine and are not bothered about partying all night and who like the tranquil country life. That doesn't mean to say we are in bed before 9pm every night as we like to visit our favourite restaurants at least once a week. We have good internet so are not totally isolated. We are very conscious of the environment and try to conserve natural resources.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are located in the countryside 3km away from Alberobello, a world heritage site at the centre of the 'Zona de trulli' that has over 1000 unique stone houses, similar to our own home. The nearest airports are Bari and Brindisi. We recommend Bari airport as it has a connecting train that runs to Alberobello where we can collect you from Alberobello train station. There is no public transport from Brindisi. We have bicycles available and there are limited local buses and trains from Alberobello to nearby towns. You would live with us and our dogs Dillon and Dolly as part of the family in our simple rural lifestyle in wonderful fresh air. All we expect is that you work a little, relax a little and most of all enjoy helping us creating our Paradiso.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week
















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 768535813919