Help with carpentry projects, upkeeping our lovely old home and with our sweet animals in beautiful Nova Scotia, Canada

  • 227 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 13 jun 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    ** I am looking for someone to house and doggie sit from May 29 to June 9th. Option to stay longer if a good fit**

    Hi! I'm Jen..a fun and friendly female living in a rustic and almost 200yr old gold miner's cottage in the gorgeous village of Waverley, which is about 20 minutes outside Halifax. I have two sweet little 10lb wonderdogs rescued from the Dominican Republic named Peru and Audrey. Audrey is a relatively new arrival and also has special needs as she was attacked by a large dog while in the Dominican, which initially, paralyzed her hind end. She has made incredible progress since then and is very mobile. She just moves funny, like a 20-something in heels out clubbing in the middle of an icy winter. We are still working on her being housetrained so wee puddles and poops are common. She also has PTSD from the attack, so any form of correction sends her scurrying in terror, leaving a trail of pee 🙈 The extremely cold weather last winter has not helped her progress but she is getting there ❤.

    My reality is, my lovely but rustic old house is aging faster than I can keep up with it, so I am hoping to find an animal friendly person with interest and/or skills in carpentry, renovation or construction...or at least a willingness to watch how-to YouTube videos with me as I need help with some long outstanding projects in this lovely old home.

    I lead a wonderful, interesting and charmed life.. I travel a lot (pre-Covid), which is why I have so many outstanding projects! Each August I head to Nevada for 4-5 weeks for Burning Man. I am the regional contact for the Burning Man organization here in the Maritimes and love telling stories of adventures in the desert!

    I bought 5 acres of beautiful forest in the spring of 2021 and am gradually building a small off-grid cabin on it, so help with that would also be wonderful!

    I offer a very warm and welcoming environment and will ensure you are comfortable and well fed! While my home is not on a bus route, I can run you to the closest bus stop which has an express bus to Halifax. I have been a Couchsurfing host for over 10 years and have hosted people from all over the world. I heat predominately with wood in the winter, although I do have a furnace to take the chill out of the air in the mornings.

    I have high speed internet but not so high speed in the guest cottage!

    If we get along well, there are often opportunity to for you to stay here while I am off adventuring.

    Looking forward to meeting you!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am happy to help you with your English language skills, and teach you all about Burning Man. Also, even if you have only basic renovation skills, let's learn how to do things together! 😆

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I have many projects for us to tackle! If you have experience with home renovations, carpentry skills, woodworking, or even a really strong drive to learn how to do these things, I think you'd enjoy hanging out here!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Single bed in living room for winter months. Shared bathroom with claw foot tub and separate shower. In spring/summer/fall, I have a rustic guest cottage that can accommodate a single or couple in a queen bed. There is an electric heater for spring/ fall season and a pellet stove for the winter.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are gorgeous walking trails close to my home. I have a couple of kayaks you can use in the lakes that surround where I live. Plus, there is Halifax only 25 minutes away, which is a fantastic city to explore.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 762528123812

Comentarios (11)



Fotos

Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (4.8)
















Off-grid living and help with DIY and permculture projects near Winlaw, Canada
Looking for help at my hobby farm on beautiful Vancouver island, Canada