Join our homeschooling family on the farm in Auckland, New Zealand

  • Nueva Zelanda
  • 109 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 18 mar 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas



  • Descripción


    We have availability for a camper/ campervan to come park here or can provide and set up a nice tent with all bedding to sleep in. You will have access to the house while staying with us.

    We are very aware of the Covid risk to our household and need a good attitude from anyone who stays with us. We have not had covid, have 3 children who are not old enough to be vaccinated and have an immune compromised occupant.

    We are a homeschooling family with a lifestyle farm on 5 acres with pigs, ducks, beehives, quails, guinea fowl, sheep, chickens, horses, cows, cat and a dog.
    We have 5 children who are lovely and friendly. They are awesome kids who love to play the host too and share in cultural exchanges.
    We live close to Muriwai, Parakai Pools and Shelly Beach.
    We have a large comfortable house with ocean views, bows, slug guns, spa pool, outdoor fire and unlimited internet (just rural slow).

    We grow, make and process as much of our own food as possible so have fresh eggs, furs, honey, fruit, veges and homegrown meat. This is not really a vegetarian experience. We love to bake, are working on producing all our own bread, pasta, jams, chutney, candles and so much more - You will be well fed and we like to try and introduce you to as many NZ foods as possible!
    We grow homekill meat so this means under the NZ Law to eat it you must be involved with the ongoing manner in the farm's daily operations and their family and household.

    Being on a farm like this means early starts - breakfast is at 7am and a routine that needs to be stuck to.

    Accommodation can be a person on their own or couple/traveling friends.

    We are looking for help with our home, farm and children.
    Your hours do not include day to day household chores required by everyone who lives here for example: Dishes, picking produce, taking out rubbish, recycling, feeding animals, clean up after meals, milking for the house etc…

    This could include gardening, maintenance, painting, building, weeding, mulching, lawns, cleaning, driving, digging, animal related tasks like cleaning shelters and much more...

    To stay with us you will need to:
    * have a good attitude
    * be motivated
    * have common sense
    * keen to give new experiences a go
    * have lots of energy
    * be able to follow a list and instructions to a high standard

    We are particularly interested in skilled people for building projects, renovations and upcycling.
    It would be a bonus if you had a license to drive in NZ and were confident on rural roads.

    We enjoy learning about other cultures and sharing our Kiwi way of life with people. We are happy to help you with your English.

    We look forward to hearing from you!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Share your language and culture with us! We are all doing this for learning about each other.
    Speaking English when ever possible in the household is a great way to practice/learn – we are more then happy to help you get the words right!
    We do request that when you are around the table for meals conversations are held in English – we consider meals a social thing.
    We have NZ movies, some stories and Maori culture books.
    We would love you to teach our kids and us your language in return.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Possible projects:

    *Painting Decks
    *Building and Painting Animal Shelters
    *Building a Courel
    *Sandpit construction
    *Playground construction
    *Chicken Coop Build
    *Rabbitry Floor
    *Renovating Caravan
    *House cleaning and organizing
    *Au Pair
    *Lawn Mowing & Weed Trimming
    *Animal Maintenance - drenching, hooves, housing...
    *Mechanical help

    So Much More depending on your skills and interests...

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    We have availability for a camper to come park here or can provide a nice tent with all bedding to sleep in. You will have access to the house while staying with us.

    All food is provided by us. We provide Breakfast, Snacks, Lunch and Dinner.
    We generally don’t take fussy eaters – we pride ourselves on providing good food and you will be well fed! We do understand people often have particular things they do not like but please keep opinions to yourself unless you are allergic – this helps to keep the kids open minded about foods and sets a good example.

    Our food comes from the farm as much as possible - milking the goat, growing the meat and picking produce.
    We are a lifestyle farm – that means we all contribute to run and manage our household, animals and farm working towards being as self sufficient as possible -it is hard work but we love it and we hope you do too!

    We use all the animals for food or other things they produce like fur, eggs etc…
    We grow what we can and are continuously working towards producing more from our property.
    As part of our family for the time you are here we would like you to be actively involved to get the most experience out of your stay and contribute in day to day things we do to provide the great meals and the accommodation you get.
    There is a daily routine for feeding the animals and cleaning up after meals which is done by everyone - you need to be able to follow a list to a high standard.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are not new to hosting (also on helpx) and have had many great feedbacks from other websites some of our workawayers have been 2 weeks and some 3 months. We have enjoyed them and our family loves the experience.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have rural internet (DSL). No photos of us or the property are to be shared unless permission is sought

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a farm with access to water and power for a camper.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 759538544496

Comentarios (2)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.5)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.5)

Help us with gardening and explore Hamilton, New Zealand
Help with the garden and around the house in Suburbia Oamaru, New Zealand