Live in a treehouse and help with our hobby veggie and garlic farm outside Prince George, Canada

Country

Canadá

actualizado  

345 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    10  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    COVID-19 UPDATE
    We are unable to accomodate booking guests who are currently out of province at this time.We apologize as it is important that you value social distancing. We live with elders and this is so we will want to chat with you a bit before guaranteeing a spot.

    Welcome! We speak fluent English and German. We are looking for someone to live in our treehouse cabin and to help us with projects, and looking after a farm.

    We live on a 5 acre rural property just outside Prince George BC- a town you need to pass through to get to Alaska and the Yukon. We live about 30km from downtown where the air is fresh, and it’s just a short walk to two lakes. Holly kayaks to the school she teaches at!

    We are a family of 5, with 3 children ages 12-17. Children are not here on the weekends. Holly's elder mother lived in her own suite downstairs. We have 1 large dog and 2 cats that live in the house and if you have allergies to cats our house would not be suitable. There are pescetarian/vegetarian options available for meals, as Holly is pescatarian but the rest of the family eats meat. Unfortunately we cannot accomadate other diets and food allergies due to busy farm life. Non-smoking/non-vaping guests only please. 4:20 friendly on your own time.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Learn the basics of gardening and building in a difficult northern climate. We only have 60 days to grow the majority of our food and there is so much planning involved. We would love to share our knowledge!

    Experience rural family life as we develop a small farm that reuses discarded materials to lessen our impact on the land. Come see how a tree house cabin, chicken coop, fence, and a loft styled shed were all built using wood from our own land. If you love innovative projects and are interested in how you can use what you already have, we are the right fit for you.

    Depending on the season, walk the land with us and learn how to harvest wild plants for food, tinctures, and teas on the weekends. Holly knows all the names of the wild plants of B.C. and we eat local plants when ready and have an entire cupboard of wild crafted teas. Learn how to find yourself a quick survival snack or cup of tea!

    Ever want to take a big dog for a walk or a run in your free time? Charlie (Great Pyrense/Golden Retriever mix) would love to get out around the neighborhood or to Eskers 20 min down the road. Learn to live away from city life, and experience kayaking on a lake all to yourself! (Lake may still be frozen till end of April depending on the season). Sport fishing (liscense required) is at Eena lake, a 5 min bike ride down the road. Nukko Lake is beautiful, but limited in desirable fish species.

    We also offer training with basic power tools and can teach you to use a chainsaw safely. If you are keen to learn new skills, we are willing to show you! We are also a musical and artistic family and would love to learn about your talents as well!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for flexible and positive minded guests who are genuinely interested in learning how to run a small hobby farm to grow their own food. Basic work experience in a garden (any zone) or working with plants or on a farm is appreciated, but not necessary. Ideal workaway guests are guests who want to learn, and are interested in farm life.

    Garden/yard tasks may be weeding, using a wheelbarrow to make garden beds, watering, sifting soil, mowing, harvesting vegetables/garlic.

    Depending on your interest and skillset we can expand your tasks.

    You will often work with Daniel as Holly is teaching full time from April-July 1st. April may be a bit chilly, so please be aware of our climate zone. Canada does not spray for mosquitoes in rural areas, so be aware! Daniel is allergic to them and survives only because he loves Holly. Holly ignores them completely because the mosquitoes just think she tastes awful.

    Animal care is working with chickens and quails: feeding, egg collection and cleaning cages, pens, and is shared with our youngest. Help with building projects is simple and straightforward, no experience necessary.

    Basic household chores will be included during the week as part of your hours as it gets busy trying to keep up with everything!
    Everyone pitches in with clean up of meals, including children. If you wish to cook and prep meals/bake, this can also be part of your hours during the week if it fits our timeline. We often have many unique projects on the go, so please expect clutter in the house, and tools or a project on the kitchen counter!

    Help will be needed about 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. We do not go beyond 5 hours, as many guests have experienced in other workaways. Guests usually start their day at 9, but we begin earlier. Guests work from 9-12, have a 1 hour lunch then work from 1-3pm. That being said we are super flexible with our hours/days and might work different hours dependent on the weather. We try to mix up your tasks.

    We consider guests as part of our family. Instructions will be in German and English. A car will be helpful if you want to explore beyond our routines.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will be staying in privately set 8x12 tree house cabin (including porch) at the back of our property. Heat is provided by a wood stove and there is power to the cabin. No water or toilet facilities in the treehouse. We only accepting 1 guest or 2 traveling partners so the treehouse space is yours.

    There is an outdoor outhouse by the treehouse but you will have full access to our large family home for cooking, laundering/showering/WiFi and just hanging out. Wifi upload speed is not great. Bathroom will be shared with kids. Campfires are permitted and encouraged! Light a fire and enjoy the night stars! No light pollution, and you can see Milky Way!

    Sauna! We have a beautiful outdoor wood-fired sauna in the woods that you may use. The sauna is built with waste wood and trees from our land, and overlooks the small gully next to the treehouse. In August the sauna might not be available, if the wood stove is used in an alternate area to cure garlic.

    Both the tree house cabin and the house are non-smoking and we do not accept smoking/vaping guests. Bedding/towels are provided. Wi-Fi is only available in the house. Breakfast and lunch meals are pretty informal, and we try to have a sit down family dinner each evening at 6pm depending on Holly's schedule. All food is provided and there is a pantry full of snacks. Alchohol is not included, but feel free to purchase on your own.

    Everyone helps with the basic prep of dinner and clean-up of dishes, even on the weekend "day offs". Weekends the kids are at their dads, and meals are more "help yourself"/leftovers and informal.

    To access the lake you just walk across the road down a little path and we have two kayaks to offer guests. Generally, you are the only person on the lake! We also have some older bikes available for your use.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    During your time off you will have access to the kayaks, and fishing gear. There are two nearby community beaches, a fishing dock, and Esker's Provincial Park about 15km away to go easy hiking in. We enjoy living in a rural setting, and if you crave the nightlife on the weekend, we are not the right fit for you. We are young(er!) but would rather sit around here with a glass of wine and a fire and connect with you. The closest shopping area is 15 min away by car.

    Our neighborhood is quiet and safe. We live 30 min from downtown Prince George, and we go downtown every Friday to drop off the kids and shop on the weekend. We are currently not loaning our car out to guests due to insurance complications.

    We will pick up and drop off at the Prince George airport, Via train station, and other locations to help you arrive/depart.
    We are known as the Gateway City as we are the central city to pass through on your way to Alaska, the Yukon, as well as Haida Gwaii. There are an abundance of ride-share options on Facebook that can take you to and from Prince George along with an International airport.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Lots of parking area. No water hook up, but an outdoor hose, and access to a power cord. But the treehouse is just so much better! No wifi outside.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)










Número de referencia de anfitrión: 754594478723