Certified Organic speciality cut flower and small fruit farm, near Nelson BC

  • 82 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 21 mar 2024



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana



  • Descripción


    Come stay at a working farm run by Lana and Brad! We grow flowers and small fruit for market and local shops. We have an organic vegetable garden which provides an all you can eat buffet of produce. We also have a small flock of chickens for eggs. We are located on the amazing Slocan River, 30 minutes from Nelson, BC. There are lots of outdoor activities to do here including kayaking, hiking, swimming, biking or floating on the river! We have kayaks and bikes that you can use. The summers are pretty hot and dry so jumping in the river at the end of the day is a must! The location is very private and peaceful. We have a big fluffy friendly dog, who protects the fenced farm. We of course have hummingbirds and a lot of other wildlife in the area including lots of varieties of birds, deer, elk, fish and the occasional black bear.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Práctica de idiomas
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will have the chance to learn about flower and fruit farming, food processing and the care of chickens. You will experience the 'Wilds of BC' and the realities of rural farm living! This will be a chance to slow down to spend time reading and relaxing in nature and working outdoors. Lots of opportunities for outdoor sports right from the farm, and if you have a vehicle, there are amazing provincial parks in the region with awesome hiking trails.

  • Ayuda


    We have a number of projects we would like to complete from building a hoop house to a fire wood shelter and applying lots of mulch to the gardens. Depending on the week, there may be lots of fruit to harvest (and eat!), or weeding to do, or projects to help with. Limited indoor help, so you will need to love the outdoors and be prepared to spend your time out side! if you have particular skills such as carpentry, we would definitely give you tasks to use that skill and potentially time credit due to skill level. In general, we would like 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. The two days off are flexible - and you can choose which days you want to have off. However, sometimes we ask people to work on Tuesdays to help us prepare for the Wednesday market.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    Not only your own private bedroom, but also your own sitting room with TV, couch and desk, your own bathroom, and laundry area! This space is in the basement of our house and will be largely dedicated to your personal use (we have a bit of storage in the area). Breakfasts will be either egg based, pancakes, crepes or could be homemade granola, fruit and yogurt. We always have homemade sour dough bread or fresh buns for making lunches, and we usually have sandwiches, soup or leftovers for lunch. Dinners will be family style with excellent food as I love to cook! Meals are generally vegetarian, but also include some chicken (farm raised!) and fish. We eat very little packaged or processed food, so all will be fresh made, and often using farm grown ingredients. We are happy to accommodate some preferences on food (not vegan however). If we had a big day likely a beer or cider will be thrown in! Please note - No cell phone coverage here, but you can use our phone, or the internet for long distance calls. No smoking on the farm.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Ride shares are the best way to get to Nelson, or fights to Castlegar. We can pick you up for your first day from either location. After that, you can catch a local bus to the nearest town, it goes a few times a day to Nelson BC. You could also ride a bike to the closest little village that has a great little restaurant. On Wednesdays and often other days we go to 'town' and often you can get a ride. It is however important to remember that this is rural living, it is NOT a city experience and we have noticed that for some folks this posses a challenge of the slowness of it all if you are used to city living. Folks that want to experience this rural life and the outdoor activities that it has to offer will do best.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    we have lots of lovely private space to park, with also water and power hook up and gray water disposal possible!

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 949195991872

Comentarios (1)