Help needed with our organic garden in beautiful West Kootenays, British Columbia, Canada

  • 415 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 31 may 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello and Welcome!

    My name is Dianne. I am an 80-year-old woman, living and working on this property for 50 years. I live with a traveler house-mate, and share the land with my family.

    I am looking for help thru spring and summer, and appreciate longer stays, with some house and garden sitting. I am seeking assistance for about 25 hours of help per week, in exchange for food and board, which would average out to about 5 hours per day. Weekends free but flex-time.

    I do have some house rules that I kindly ask all helpers to follow. These include: changing shoes and dirty clothes after working outside, keeping meal preparation, cooking, and dishes separate from work hours, but sharing is encouraged, ensuring the kitchen is cleaned up right after use. Additionally a general rule of picking up after yourself is appreciated. Thank you for considering these rules. Otherwise, I am quite easygoing.

    This opportunity is ideal for individuals who can work both with me and independently. There is accommodation available, including a room with a queen-sized bed for couples, a bedroom for a single person, and an outdoor bedroom. You would be sharing the house with me and any other WWOOFers.

    The property features a bountiful organic garden that provides most of the food, as well as wildcrafted items. I have been tending to this land for almost 50 years, growing food and medicinal plants, making plant medicine, and saving seeds. The 30-acre parcel boasts a large creek, abundant wildlife, great water, and stunning views. It is located outside of Balfour, near Kootenay Lake, and a short, 30-minute drive from the vibrant city of Nelson.

    In addition to the gardening tasks, there are opportunities to learn about sustainable living, harvest, and process medicinal plants, and participate in the cultural life of the area. Internet access is available, and I am looking forward to the exchange of ideas and experiences with potential helpers.

    Organic methods: I use compost, manure, organic amendments, plants for pollinators and other insects that eat the insect pests, and do crop rotation, etc.

    Certifications: This land has never had any non-organic amendments used. I am probably more organic than many of the certified farms and have sold locally at stores and markets. When you visit you will see for yourself the great abundance of wild plants, insects, and birds.

    I look forward to working and exchanging ideas with you.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda informática
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Learn about sustainable living, how to grow and put up food for the winter. You will have the opportunity to harvest and process medicinal plants and to create oils, tinctures, teas, salves and creams. Learn to identify wild edible plants and eat fresh organic food directly from the garden. I have a very interesting, wide and varied library and love sharing stories.

    In addition, you will have the opportunity to participate in the cultural life of the West Kootenays, known for world famous music festivals, a vibrant arts scene, and multiple recreation opportunities including wilderness hiking and access to beautiful lakes and rivers.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Besides the usual garden work (weeding, harvesting, etc.) there are garden paths, and wild forest garden projects needing work.

    We are providing food and accommodation for 25 hours of work each week. Hours per day can be flexible depending on task requirements and your needs.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    For volunteers there is one bedroom with a queen-sized bed in our house or depending on the situation another room with a single bed, there is also an outdoor bedroom. The rest of the living space is shared. Organic food is provided.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are a half hour east of the city of Nelson. There is a bus system and the longest free ferry boat ride in the country within walking distance.
    I am in agreement with the sustainable development UN goals

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have a great wi-fi connection in the house and other people have had a part-time job beside helping in the house. A consideration of working a total of 25 hours over 5 days is requested.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 751432845973

Comentarios (13)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.9)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (4.8)


















Help and learn all about our microbrewery in Gaspé, Canada
Help managing 5 acres in the beautiful Cowichan Valley, Canada.