Learn about gardening, permaculture and composting, staying with us in rural Mendocino, California, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

22 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    17/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My husband Harold and I are retired, in good health, and in our seventies. We live about one city block from Ranjung Yeshe' Gomde , a Ningma Tibetan Buddhist retreat center. Our family is harmonious, we are good neighbors, and give to our community.

    We are looking forward to some good company and fun for both of us. Mary speaks intermediate Spanish and we would enjoy a person who speaks Spanish.

    Certain landscaping chores, mowing the lawn,, cleaning the swimming pool, gardening and line trimming require energy and we are running low.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The friendly traveler will learn about gardening, permaculture, composting, using local seaweed for fertilizer. They can learn how to cook, go for walks, and have English-As -A Second Language lessons. (Mary was an ESL teacher with a Master's degree at the college level.) Harold, has 48 years of radio broadcasting, and he owns and operates a small community radio station nearby. The traveler could help at the station too. The cabin is a sweet furnished small studio, with Buddhist décor with a hot tub right outside. We also have a swimming pool , and a cabana with hammocks. There is a beautiful river close by and miles of Redwood trees. We live in a small community of 200 people and the nearest town is 20 miles away . Thank you.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    My husband and I live in a secluded house (with a furnished cabin) on 2 acres in Northern Mendocino county, Northern California. We grow vegetables in our garden and and would welcome help with weeding, watering etc. As we age (in our 70s) we are not able keep up with what it takes to grow a good garden. Help with light house keeping and laundry on ocassion. We live about an hour from the "Lost Coast" and go there about once a week. Our workawayer would be welcome to come along.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I developed an interest in linguistics when I was young. I was a flight attendant internationally based in Japan, My route was Okinawa, Tiapei. Phillipines, Saigon, Bankok,and Singapore. Later, I attended Cal Poly North (where I received a M.A. in Applied Linguistics in Education. I taught ESL for about 15 years.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The cabin is a small studio with shower, bath tub, bed, a wood burning stove, kitchen stove, small refrigerator and a hot tub outside. Three meals a day + room

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The workawayer can ride bicycles, walk, swim, hike, take hot tubs, and if interested, go to the Buddhist monastery and retreat center near-by. The nearest bar, night life and live music is 30 miles away. There is still a lot to do. There is a Tibetan Buddhist Retreat center near by too.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 739782244778