Experience life with an Italian family in Verona, Italy

  • 45 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 19 may 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a family from Verona, in the North of Italy. We are two professionals (Giovanni, a physician, and Paola, a tax consultant) and we have four kids (8, 7,7 y.o. and 5 months). We also have a two year-old regular schnauzer, Brulè, that lives with us and we got adopted by a cat, Creme, who comes home from time to time. In a short time some hens should arrive. We live in a small single house with a garden, in the immediate outskirts of Verona.
    We'd have two kinds of need:
    1) Help in the garden, chopping/sawing/piling wood for the winter and some lighter help in the house, like defeating woodworms, helping with basic house work/maintenance;
    2) help for Paola with the newborn while she's at home/at work, 'cause she's in a busy working period. In this case we'd need that the W.A. could look after the baby and the house, with basic houseworks.
    we already have a girl that comes weekly to help with the house and a babysitter for the other children, so the workawayer won't have all the duties on his/her shoulders.
    We are very happy to share our time with Workawayers!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are "local" people since we were both born in Verona and have almost always been living in Verona, so on one hand we can tell a lot of stories about our hometown and cook local dishes. On the other hand, we are also very "international", since we spent our young adulthood traveling a lot (Giovanni speaks French and Paola speaks German too). We speak English every day (also with the kids!) and we see movies and TV shows from other countries. And we can cook foreign delicatessen too!

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Need n. 1)
    Wood chopping/piling and maintenance: we need to bring some already cut wood from a field next to the house right in our garden and, here, to chop/saw/break it in a stove-friendly size. We'd also need to treat some of the furniture agains woodworms and other similar small tasks.
    We don't think there must be a minimum stay for this task, but maybe it would be helpful if at least one of the tasks could be started and finished by the same WA. We'd also prefer if the WA had already done it before, to avoid any accident.
    Need n. 2
    Despite the arrival of our newborn Agostino, Paola has to work anyway, since she'a a freelance with no other help at work, so we need someone reliable that could look after the child should Paola be right in the middle of a work-meeting online.
    The W.A. could take some walks in the countryside with the child and the dog, if he/she likes, or visit the city if Paola will be at work downtown.
    Still for a few months Paola will be breastfeeding, so the workawayer will have to "stay around", to reach Paola should it be "tit-time", but will have a lot of time by his/herself.
    The longer this workawayer could stay, the better for us.

    He/she will be obviously welcome to share our family-life, if he/she's pleased.
    If possible, we are looking for an English-speaking person/couple (possibly mother-tongue or very fluent), so that the other children can improve their language and learn other cultures when they come home at the end of the day.
    Our other kids are Emilia and Irene, 7-year-old twins, and Niccolò, our 8-year-old little man. They already have a babysitter for many afternoons and there is a housekeeper that comes once/twice a week to do the main houseworks.
    It could happen that we'll ask the W.A. to stay a bit with the older children too, if unexpected appointment should come up.

    Please, be aware in advance that we don't consider 'working hours" helping with the everyday-life tasks, like setting and unsetting the table, filling and emptying the dishwasher, turning off the lights when leaving a room, opening windows to change the air, brooming the floor when dirty etc: we think it's something the WA would do in his/her own house, so we expect them to do as well while sharing life with us. :-)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Francés: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We are interested in letting the children learn English while speaking it in our everyday life. Adults both know a couple of foreign language (Paola speaks german, Giovanni speaks french).

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We moved during the summer of 2022 to the hills at 15 mins from the historic center of Verona. The children and us sleep in two rooms, then there are a small laundry room, a big livingroom, a big kitchen and finally a spare big room that we are hoping will host our Workawayer(s)! There are two bathrooms and a toilet. One bathroom is in the parent's room, the other one would be to share between the kids and the Workawayer(s). The toilet is on the ground floor next to the kitchen.
    We have garden all around the house and during the warm days is possible to eat outside. We are sorrounded by olive trees and vineyards, but very close to every facility and to town.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Verona is a small city situated close to the beautiful Dolomiti mountains and to the Lake of Garda, halfway between Venice and Milan. It's very close to almost every type of landscape and a site of both incredible cultural experiences and beautiful natural trekking.
    Transportation to Verona is relatively easy. It takes 20 mins by bus to the town, by bike it takes 40 mins (only bike lanes). We have 2 cars and we can give the workawayer a ride downtown in the morning.
    Verona is a beautiful town, the city of love (Romeo and Juliet got married here) of Opera (in the Roman amphitheater) and of the most important wine fair in Europe.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have no fiber, but use a 4G connection Wi-fi from a dedicated mobile: Paola's working often from home too.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have a private parking right next to the house, where also our two cars are parked. There's water but no electricity connection.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 735511347284

Comentarios (2)



Fotos

Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)





Help and Italian family with English and the kids in Chanti, Italy
Stay in a country house and help out in the garden in Piedmont, Italy