Permaculture and bioregionalism in our small farmstay on the edge of the Cinque Terre national park, north Italy

  • 300 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 4 jun 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My name is Peter (35), I'm from UK, and live with my Italian partner Laura (31), our baby boy Arno, and our little dog Indi on our small farmstay on the edge of the Cinque Terre national park, north Italy. We are 3 years into building a permaculture farmstay (a small, sustainable organic farm with accommodation for guests and helpers).
    We are working to restore long abandoned vineyard and olive grove, and we also grow a variety of fruits and vegetables. Our aim is to live as off-grid as reasonably possible, to lessen our impact on the environment, provide for ourselves, and to live closer with nature and our community. Our project is spread across 3 sites (differing microclimates, different crops!) all on the beautiful mountain we call home. We are surrounded with diverse forest and stunning sea views.
    After meeting, Laura and I travelled around Oceania and Asia for 4 years, before settling here with the idea of building a sustainable paradise to host travellers and start a family of our own 😁

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Permaculture principles and operations (sustainably and efficiently growing organic fruit and veg), Bioregionalism (living from the resources available locally), Water capture/storage systems/irrigation. Sustainable/off-grid living practices. Local nature and wildlife. Sustainable construction and DIY. Local cuisine and cooking. Language practice (Laura is a language teacher, we both speak English and Italian, Laura also speaks Spanish and Russian).

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We go to great lengths to leave as small an impact as possible on our environment, with the aim of being a carbon negative project in the near future. Please be prepared to walk up to 30 mins (of steep but beautiful mountain trails) to and from work sites, rather than driving, also where we live is around 500m of mostly steps from the nearest road/parking/bus stops.
    We also strive to avoid using petrol-powered/electric tools (wherever reasonably possible) so expect to see and use a variety of traditional hand tools and techniques in our daily lives!
    We offer 3 meals a day during your stay, sometimes you will have to cook for yourselves, but a choice of food will always be provided. Bonus points if you can cook for us once in a while 😉. We ask 20 hrs max a week (typically only 16 hrs) of help, over 4 days a week max. Good weather weeks we can be more flexible with working hours, wet weeks we have to get stuff done while it's dry. We typically don't work in the rain.
    We are ideally looking for a couple or single travellers, to live with us, eat with us and be part of our family. Tasks vary widely depending on month, season and year! Get in touch near the time for a better idea of exact jobs needing doing. Responsibilities may include: planting/harvesting fruits/vegetables, harvesting/processing lumber, vineyard/veg garden maintenance, housekeeping.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We offer the spare room in our beautiful house. We have indoor and outdoor kitchens, veg gardens and a pool available during summer months. We also have 2 other basic farmstays available for use.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are situated <10 minute bus or car journey from the famous Cinque Terre villages and national park, our vineyard is inside the national park 10 mins drive or 30 mins walk from home. The area is a hikers paradise, well known for lush, diverse forests and stunning mountain/sea views everywhere. Many beaches are accessible nearby. The area is also a great place for rock climbing, mountain biking, island sightseeing, sailing/kayaking, canyoning, cliff diving, and snorkelling in summer, and also skiing/snowboarding in winter.
    We are also 15 mins bus/drive from La Spezia city, boasting numerous markets and a huge selection of bars and restaurants.
    We are also on edge of Tuscany, 1 hours drive/train from Genoa and Pisa. 2 hrs from Parma, 2.5 hrs from Florence and 3 hrs from Milan.
    Please don't expect an immediate response to messages. I typically reply after a week or two, sometimes sooner sometimes later but I will always respond. There are so many factors that make organising our project (and the help we need) so very difficult in the long term. Thank you for your patience.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have reliable wireless broadband connection and a small office space for working. We recently hosted a remote worker who said the space was ideal.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Free parking is available to smaller vans in the village where we live. Larger vans can park in one of 2 clearings in the forest nearby, regularly used by campervans without issues.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 723919817592

Comentarios (5)



Fotos

Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)











Help a family with gardening and DIY projects in Pu, Italy
Help us with practicing English and taking our dog for a walk while learning Italian and exploring Palermo, Italy