Help us in agroecological farming near Spa in the beautiful High Ardennes, Belgium

Country

Bélgica

103 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/01/2022

  • Medallas

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello ! My name is Sylvain, and I'm a found of nature gardener/farmer in his early thirties. Since I don't really give myself time to travel that much any longer I d be very happy to be part of your travels.

    Some years ago a couple of relatives bought a 7 ha meadow next to their home in Cockaifagne and asked me if I wanted to do something on it. So I started experimenting there and got more and more interested into permaculture, agro forestry, food forest garden and so on.

    Bernard and Ruth, the owners of the place are a sweet retired couple in their seventies. Bernard is found of paraglinding but when the wind is good ha gladly mown the lawn for hours and that his blessing to me ^^ His wife Ruth is from Switzerland and loves teaching languages to immigrants, baking carrot cakes and also does some little things to help. My friend Axel also comes to help sometimes as well and of course my lovely little dog Yoli is part of the dreamteam and tries to help by catching the voles.

    My goals for the next years would be to slowly establish myself there, produce most of what I eat, make a living out of ma passion and help people around turning the lawn into fertile ecosystems.

    The productions would mostly be fresh and preserved fruits, berries and mushrooms. Seeds, useful plants, and herbal teas would be great as well.

    The tasks are various from giving a second life to pallets to taking care of the orchards and vegetable garden. We use to have geese to care of as well but the fox ate them all and we 're waiting for the right time to start our natural grass management program.

    Me and most people I dwell with are vegetarians or eat really few meat and dairy. If you 're vegan, no problems we ll eat vegan with you.

    In Jalhay, you ll find a nice lake, a tiny natural park named the high fens and a beautiful forest. I have plenty of montain bikes and maps you can borrow. From Verviers or Eupen, the two closest cities you can hop in a train that goes to the seaside in 3 hours stopping in Liège, Bruxelles, Gent and Brugges. Aarchen, Maastricht and Koln are pretty close as well. I enjoy kayaking as well when there s enough water in the rivers.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Beside what you could learn from agro ecology principles, I can also teach you why it actually matther more then never, but also how to play didgeridoo or a little bit of guitar, or bass or ukulele, some cooking recipes, freestyle beer tasting, the true meaning of life and how the repaire a flat tire on a montain bike. I also enjoy going out depending on the music.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I mostly need help with the vegetable garden and the orchads; weeding, doing seedling, ect, mowing, harvesting, building and maintaining the sheds, petting Charly the ginger cat whose need of cuddling could turn it hairless, chopping wood.... Sometimes we also do some canning or such things. Help with cooking is often welcome too ^^

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    In summer I often sleep in Cockaifagne in an old trailer as It's low confort and privacy I d like to build something else for the guests when I ll have got the time wich as everyone knows means never gonna happen. ^^

    Otherwise I stay in my family house, where my broter's room is available most of the time and a double bed for guest in the living room as well. My mother is a great person, especially if you 're interested in energetic healing and never ending phonecalls. There are nice forests around and a beautiful lake 5 minutes by bike from the house.

    I also have a room in in a big house in Fraipont near Liège where I live with three women and a men my age and little men some month old. There's a kind of guest/music room before my room that's available too and a huge living room. My house mates make quite a good company. The area is quite nice there as well and there s a train station at 1 kilometre. It's also possible to stay there as coach surfer.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Nature is pretty enjoyable in my area. You ll have internet with cable, books in french and english, few some in spanish, few in german. I can provide you with montain bikes and maps or show you around if I have some spare time. Jalhay is easy to get to by bus from Verviers but I can eventually pick you up somewhere if you're not far or if you lack of hitch-hiking luck.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 2-8 hours a day, 4-5 days a week (Maximum 25 hours/week)




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 267933196271