Help renovate my farmstead & workshop and grow delicious veggies near Moletai, Lithuania

Country

Lituania

29 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    24/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Heya! I'm Donald, a Dutchie rocking it in Lithuania.

    Early 2019 I bought a Sodyba (Farmstead), Its a 2.5 ha piece of land, On top a 120m2 Log house, 3 Barns an Orchard and a Pond occupied by frogs and toads. I'm renovating the house with Traditional an Natural techniques and i have turned one of the barns into a Woodworkshop.

    I have my background in Furniture and Interior. In my Traveling Workaway years i learned a lot about Natural Building and Tiny Houses. little bit of Gardening and Permaculture. With all gained knowledge I'm now trying to realize my own little dream: to life on the countryside, Have a Woodworkshop to build stuff, A nice Orchard and Garden for treats. and to become as sustainable and independent as possible.

    The Sodyba is located in the countryside of Moletai, about 65km from Vilnius and 100km from Kaunas. The area has a lot of Lakes and Forests. In summer Moletai becomes quite touristic with events, markets and festivals. though the winters are quiet. From my village is one bus in the early morning and one in the afternoon. From Moletai buses go anywhere regularly

    I like to dance Lindy hop, occasionally some Blues. As staying on the farm you end up a bit more Isolated. the dancing keeps me Social. Since Covid times Dancing is very minimal, But any lindy or blues dancers are still very welcome to visit. We can do home socials or maybe Visit a social in the city if they are organized.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I can teach you about Carpentry and Natural building, Take you on Walks in the nearby Forests or lakes. In the dark winter months i like to do Full Moon hikes at night. (not organized currently due to Covid) I Dance Lindy hop and Blues. If you are dancer we could check out some of the Weekly Socials in Kaunas or Vilnius. (if organized due to Covid) In my Workaway Years i learned one recipe of every country i volunteered in and could teach you each classic dish. or show you a bunch of stars and constellations on a clear night sky.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    A small summary of Works i am currently doing Have planned or have completed. Most of the work I can do alone and have basic experience in, but its much more fun and easy to do these things together, especially taking care of the Garden and applying Natural Clay Plaster. Whatever i know, i can teach you. Whatever you know you can Teach me.

    Sodyba:
    - Removing, sanding, oiling and Insulating ceiling boards.
    - Mount wooden Laths and Clays plaster on walls
    - Remove old non working Stoves and clean bricks for rebuilding
    - Sanding and Painting Windows
    - Construction of bathroom space

    Barns:
    - General Cleanup/Maintenance
    - Rebuild Ceiling for the root cellar
    - Fix broken parts on roof

    Garden:
    - Build a Greenhouse
    - Prepare Veggie garden for growing season or Harvest veggies and Maintain garden beds for next season
    - Move young/Plant new Trees
    - Eat Delicious Veggies!!
    - Chop and stack Firewood

    The workshop has been completed and is in use!!

    Any experience with Woodworking tools (Manual or Electric) and or Experience with Gardening is very helpful and appreciated but not Necessary.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Romanian: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Two rooms have been renovated. One is our bedroom. the other a shared space (living/sleeping) There is also a sleeping area on top of the pizza oven, traditionally used in colder winter where you could sleep if you like. The property is 2.5 ha, so if you like you can pitch your tent anywhere or take a hammock and occupy the Orchard or Barn, if you are into that :)

    There is no access to running water yet, Drinking water comes from the well, Garden water from the Roof.

    There is a Outdoor shower for the summers, and once in a while the possibility to use a public shower on a local Camping.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I believe moderation is key. I don't eat meat daily, but once or twice a month I do. When I can I try to avoid buying processed meat. I try to minimize my refined sugar consumption and avoid artificial sweeteners, Yet every once in a while a big cake, Bag o Biscuits or a bar of chocolate is devoured! I avoid buying products from Nestle, Unilever or with Palm Oil, but sometimes I do groceries for somebody else that does want them. I don't take pills or common medication. Yet occasionally you end up in a situation where there is no alternative. I try to be as Aware as possible of what I buy, what I eat, the products I use and the effect it will have on me and the environment.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    You can basically park you Van anywhere you like, Close to the house, around the Orchard or by the pond. There is Road access until the house, after that its pasture and grass. no problem to drive if the soil is dry.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.5)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 696323234313