Relaxed experience in the quiet calm of East Cork Ireland, with cultural experiences close by

Country

Irlanda

22 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    06/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    73.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My name is Anne. I’m a teacher, and along with my partner, Adam, we’ve been renovating a 150 year old stone, Irish workers cottage on a 1 acre site outside Cork, between Carrigtwohill and Midleton. The cottage needs complete renovation and we’ve been working on this slowly over the last few summers. It’s set in lovely, calm, rolling countryside. Foxes, rabbits and hares play in the garden, as well as a range of birds, big and small. The garden is spacious, and we have recently planted an orchard and native tree saplings such as hazel and beech. I’d welcome help maintaining the garden and doing some basic DIY on the cottage. Our aim is to use traditional materials and environmentally friendly technology to bring the house back to life. We do not use artificial chemicals in the garden or house. We are happy to share what we have learned so far and would be delighted to learn from you.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cork city has beautiful museums and is full of music and cultural happenings.

    We would be delighted to show you around the areas we love, to bring you to places such as beautiful Ballycotton, Cork city, the historic towns of Cobh and Youghal and the round tower, magnificent beach and scenic village of Ardmore as examples.
    We could eat together occasionally, I’ll join you for some of the work, so there’ll be great opportunities for chat, and you are welcome to come sea swimming with me each week.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We would love help building a compost heap, creating a vegetable garden, tidying and maintaining sections of the garden that have gotten a bit wild, cutting the grass. We would like to rebuild our pizza oven.
    We would also love help removing concrete render and mortar from the old stone walls, and then replacing this with lime mortar internally. This can be detailed work using small tools and requiring patience! Also knocking down an old garden wall and removing an old timber shed.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante
    Irish: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There are two parts to the accommodation. You will sleep in a caravan on-site, room enough for two people. You will also have full access to a kitchen and bathroom in the cottage, 10 meters from the caravan. We do not live onsite yet, so you will mostly have the place to yourselves.
    We will provide food, but it will be up to you to cook for yourselves. We are pescatarians, eating mostly vegetarian food. When we eat together, we will provide vegetarian or pescatarian dishes.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The cottage is 18km from Cork, 3km to the nearest train station (which brings you to Cork in 20 mins or Midleton in 5), 6km to Midleton and 3km to Carrigtwohill. Bicycles are provided. Close by, Midleton is a busy town with a bookshop, weekly farmers market, a library, pubs and restaurants.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have off road parking and can accommodate different size vehicles.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Yes, the garden is enormous and pets are welcome. However not all boundaries are secure, so the site might be best suited to independent creatures and those that come when called, or naturally stick close by.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    About 16 hours a week. We decide together how to make up the time



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 686867517584