Help us to fix up an old boat near Sydney, Australia



19 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Descripción


    Sam and I need help on our boat project!!

    We have taken on a large sailboat that was abandoned by the owner for over 10 years and now we have lots of work to do! Sam works at the marina down the road and I study online, we are in our mid-late 20s. The boat is in a bay one hour north of Sydney CBD (you can easily get here by train that comes frequently). It's a beautiful area and you will enjoy the views. Plankton sparkles in the water at night time! Unfortunately the boat does not move at the moment but you can explore the area by walking, train, ferry or in our small dinghy or kayak. There are lots of bush walks close by.

    We haven't had any workawayers before but I have been a workawayer on other's projects previously. I'm excited to be a workaday host for the first time!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    This is a great opportunity to learn about any aspect of maintenance that you feel like, and as we got the boat for free we are not worried about any mistakes and we are happy for you to give anything a go! You will also get to learn a bit about boat life. We are happy to help with English.

  • Ayuda


    You would be staying with us on the boat to help us out with the repairs and maintenance. No experience is necessary but if you have trade skills (carpentry, electrical, plumb gin, painting) that would be a bonus. Artistic skills would also be appreciated as we'd like to have a couple of nice paintings on the walls to spruce up the place! Cooking and cleaning will be shared work

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    We are English speakers. I am a beginner at Spanish and French, not enough to have a conversation (yet!) but keen to learn!

  • Alojamiento


    You will be staying with us on the boat, your room is the v-berth, it's just a small space. There's enough space for one person or a couple/two friends if you don't mind sharing a bed. The boat is still in rough condition so you will have to be okay with a bit of dirt and mould. Bathroom facilities are limited, with shower at shore.

    We don't eat a lot of meat. We're happy to accomodate vegan/vegetarian or any dietary requirements, just let us know before you come! You're welcome to eat with us or there is a pub, some cafes and a convenience store nearby.

    We use our phones for internet access and you should be able to get reception here. We can share limited internet with you.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    I study online so would be happy to host someone else who also works/studies online

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Free public parking is available at boat ramp

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 677869638586