Help out with the garden, teach Spanish, house projects and watch the dog in rural Kansas, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

18 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    07/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello everyone! We (my partner and I, and her two kids, ages 8 and 12) live in a small town in western/central Kansas! We are always looking for people who are curious about this area. Particularly we would love someone to speak Spanish with around our 8 year old. Also, I am an English teacher, so if you are learning English we can have exchanges in the two languages, and I can teach you as well.

    I bought this house on a whim a little over a year ago, when I was living the nomadic life on the road. I stopped, remembered that I had put on a pin on a property for sale in this area, pulled up the listing and sure enough saw that it was still for sale. I bought this fixer-upper because it was an INCREDIBLE deal... soon afterward I met my partner here, so I will be staying longer than anticipated to help raise her kids.

    We have many projects to tackle. I'd love some help! Currently, the attic is the big project. We are making it into a living space for me and my partner, and it will also be where her office space is. Other projects needed to be tackled include the tile in the kitchen and laundry room; drywall and painting in the kitchen; putting tile down on the countertops; fixing up the outbuilding into a potential living space; masonry repair... the list goes on!

    Amanda has a garden and wants to expand. She has been having some health problems lately, so somebody to help her out with this would be great!

    Aside from these obvious things, we're open to learning about anything! I'm sure there are other skills that you all have that can benefit us :) We are very open minded and ready to learn, as well as share all of ourselves with you. Also, we are new to hosting and don't want to set any amount of hours of help in stone just yet. We are part of the Couchsurfing community as well (I've been on there for about 12 years now, I think!) and are used to just helping out folks in general. If it feels like you're taking advantage of our generosity then we will surely let you know! However, I have strong beliefs around the problematic nature of hierarchical / authoritative power structures and relationship dynamics and am very averse to giving orders. Again, though, I will also tell you if I felt you were taking advantage of us.

    ALSO! We love to get away from Kansas, so if you're interested in just holding down the fort and watching our dog for us while we're away, then please reach out!!!!!

    ABOUT US: Amanda and I are both queer and in an ethical nonmonogamous relationship. We value honesty and transparency, and thoughts and ideas more aligned to socialism than capitalism. We both believe in science and we vote. We are vaccinated against COVID19 and so are the children. We value spending time with each other over working many hours. We both work from home...

    ... this is a safe space for BIPOC folx and the the LGBTQ+ community. We love to travel and plan to use workaway together eventually as workawayers! I (Mike) have used workaway as a volunteer in Ecuador, as well as in the San Juan Islands.

    WHAT WE CAN PROVIDE: We can provide you a free place to stay and some food. Please keep in mind the flexibility of the situation. We will not make you work hard and will not expect a lot from you. We want to provide our kids with the opportunity to meet people from other parts of the world. That is our main goal. With that in mind, please remember that we are a family that doesn't have a lot of money (partly by choice, partly by trying to maintain a life of dignity, integrity and self respect under a greedy, destructive capitalistic economic system). We try to buy healthier options but the more mouths to feed the tighter our food budget will get.

    NOTE: We are primarily vegetarian here and occasionally eat seafood. We try to avoid dairy for ethical, environmental and tummy-trouble issues!

    SECOND NOTE: There is an airport half an hour away in Hays, Kansas. We can pick you up! :D Just keep in mind... there is almost no public transportation here. Greyhound and Amtrak are options to getting close to the area too (and out of the area!).

    PS: I want to emphasize this again... I'd like for you to think of a stay here more as an opportunity just for cultural exchange (of language and ideas!) than anything else. Think more like how Couchsurfing.com works... Sure... we'd love some help with some projects... but feel free to come just for a short while... what I want to get the most out of this experience is the opportunity to expose my partner's children to as many cultures and different viewpoints as possible. There is a lack of diversity here in central/western Kansas, and very conservative-Christian values that Amanda and I don't personally believe in. We want to counteract some of the negative influences her kids have on them here with wonderful, open-minded workawayers!!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You always are learning from others of different cultural backgrounds no matter what you do. I grew up near farm country outside of the suburbs of Rochester, New York and Amanda grew up in a teenee little Kansas town farther north from here. We have very different backgrounds, and perhaps VERY different from yours, so come see what we're like!

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Building, learning, creative projects, gardening, Spanish learning, petsitting (potentially!)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I am an English teacher, and can help you with your English. We are very interested in hosting Spanish speakers, who want to help me learn the language, as well as our youngest daughter. I am open to learning other languages though too!

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There are RV hookups here for someone who has their own home on wheels; also, we have a spare mattress that can be placed in our entertainment room. The room has it's own doors you can close for privacy. This room is where I currently have my desk for work... but we can move things around if needed. This is the only accommodation for folx right now. It's a pretty nice room but IS typically a shared space. It is not a bedroom. The original plan was to have a little spare bedroom upstairs in the attic, as well as turning the outbuilding in the backyard into a living space... but those projects have not been tackled yet.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We have inflatable kayaks that you can take down several rivers in the area. There isn't much out here other than farms and fields, but the towns of Hays and Great Bend are not too far away. Wichita is just a couple hours away.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    VERY strong fiber-optic internet here. I have my office space, and Amanda has hers. I am willing to have someone use mine if I'm not using it myself.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We could actually offer full hookups to van-lifers as long as you don't have a very big set-up. There is a sewer inlet behind the garage and we can run electric and water to you.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Dogs welcome!

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Very very flexible on this. Let's chat, and make things fair! I'm not the type of person who likes to boss people around.


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 647614146143