Creating a permaculture homestead in Bombarral, Portugal

Country

Portugal

88 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    20  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    30/04/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello! I bought a quintinha in the beautiful mild Oeste region of Portugal in May 2021. Come help me turn it into a permaculture homestead. The farm has 7.5 hectares of orchards, pasture and wild forest. It was abandoned for 10 years so there is a ton of stuff to do, but also I like to keep a pretty relaxed pace to enjoy the process. As of now, I have one awesome dog, 2 cats and 3 sheep, and I will soon be adding chickens. Everything done on the farm is with thought to sustainability, both in the design of the homestead, and with the products consumed.

    I started welcoming workawayers last November and have had a wonderful time hosting interesting people from all over the world. I volunteered with workaway myself during my travels, so it is super cool to host other volunteers now. I usually have between 1 - 4.

    About me, I am a 44 year old woman. I left my career in corporate America at 41 to slow travel to interesting places around the world and create a more meaningful life for myself. All that led me here, to my little farm.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You can learn about permaculture, building a homestead, and caring for different kinds of animals, and cooking from scratch using whole ingredients. I prefer to host volunteers that are interested in these things. I spent 2 years traveling and using Workaway on and off before I bought my place, so we can share travel stories. I can help you with English if you are learning. I also speak Portuguese and understand Spanish (intermediate for both).

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Help me with land clearing and tending, making paths, and figuring out good permaculture solutions. Pruning trees. Starting a garden. Building things from the scrap lumber and metal and other things the previous owners left. Some of it is still partially buried in the yard, so it’s like a treasure hunt. Creating a 'store of found things' from the treasures.

    Also caring for the animals, and introducing new animals to the farm. I am learning as I go, so it will be great to have others to share the experience with. Tending the garden.

    Other things: Harvesting fruit, Turning the small orchard by the house into more of a food forest, Helping me improve my Portuguese.

    I occasionally take short trips, during which the volunteers look after the quintinha and animals.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Portugués: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I would love help in improving my Portuguese. I can help with English.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Volunteers stay in either a shared room with 2 single beds, or one with a double bed for couples. Bathroom is shared with other volunteers and any guests that stop by. You are also welcome to camp if you like. The stars are nice out here and there are some pretty views. Folks in caravans are welcome too.

    We can share meals as much as we like. Typically we break around midday on workdays and prepare a hearty shared lunch. And the pantry is always open. The food is vegetarian (includes eggs and dairy), and I try to make it as unprocessed and sustainable as possible. There are also many cafes and restaurants in the nearby town that serve the usual fare (3km).

    Everyone is to pitch in on cooking and cleaning. I love trying new dishes, and am happy to make some of my favorites. We usually focus on cleaning one day a week, and everyone is expected to tidy up after themselves on the day-to-day. Volunteers are expected to keep their rooms tidy and clean, as well as the shared bathroom.

    I provide shampoo, conditioner, soap, and q-tips, so you can leave those things at home if you like. I also make homemade deodorant which you are welcome to as well.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Life at the homestead is pretty chill. Looking for volunteers who are also chill, with good energy and a sense of humor and adventure, as many of the things we will be doing I will be doing for the first time as well. I prefer to host volunteers that have an interest in living sustainably and enjoying the relaxed pace of farm life. This is a great place to let your stress go and just be.

    Workawayers are welcome to stay between 2 weeks and a month initially, and possibly longer if it's a good fit.

    What to do with your free time - There are a ton of nice views around here, perfect for walks. Feel free to take the dog with you:-) I also have a bike that you can use. Naps in the sun when the weather is nice, which is more often than not. The nearby town is pretty and has plenty of cafes and a nice park.

    The beaches and surfing of Peniche are 30 minutes by car. I can usually be talked into making a trip there on days off. Lisbon is 45 minutes by car or bus.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Wi-Fi is by a 4G sim router. It’s speed varies but it is usually good enough for video calls. There are also a couple of cafes with decent Wi-Fi in town.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Yes! My dog Balto loves it when other dogs come to visit.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicación: (5.0)















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 639453142364