Se voluntario en Nicaragua en un area protegida

Country

Nicaragua

592 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    20/05/2022

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I’m the owner, 65 year old, retired, Nicaraguan-American. I live year round in the eco lodge, in Rio San Juan, Nicaragua.

    My ambition is to protect and preserve the rainforest, we do this by promoting a self-sustaining attitude to increase green living and thinking within the community. The lodge has a full running water and electricity supply powered by solar energy. Some of the food we eat is grown in our plantations for example: pineapple, oranges, lemons, herbs, spices, chillies, platanos, coffee beans and more.
    On November 24 we were hit hard by hurricane Otto, it mess up our lodge, the big trees fell down causing lots of damage to the cabin roofs, and lost the chicken and pig, all our fences around the property are down, so we have get rid of the horses.
    To access the rain forest reserve we must clear our trails, but first we are concentrating in the lodge area. We are utilizing the timber from the trees to rebuild and to sell some wood to get some income while we rebuilt.
    I’m looking for hard working volunteer with experience in construction, wood working, gardening, someone handy with tools will be perfect. I will like to make art or rustic furniture with the branches of the fallen trees.
    I could offer room, but my wife dont wsnt to cook meals for volunteer. You will have to cook for yourself, we provide basic food; you may help by purchasing some extra food to cook, and you may use our fishing gear and kayak or canoe.

    Actually, no but about it, you will have to cook for yourself.

    The lodge still closed for the public, I dont have a maid, nor cook. A familly migth be better.

    Olso we have limited solar energy.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Volunteer will learn the vanilla pollination and the process of curing, also will help collect orchid in the forest for reproducing around or lodge. They also could interact with the two local town and visit deep jungle town if wanted to learn more about the local culture.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    You will work with little supervision, and pretty much be your own boss, but we need for you to do something productive. We want volunteers to help improve the way we do things, to teach our personnel some English and good manners, better way to do things, how to cook some of your meals etc. other thing volunteer may do are:

    Most of the work now due to Hurricane Otto is in cleaning and contruction with wood

    Most of the work is in maintenance of the lodge and work on the field in our cacao plantation, or repairing trails and fences. During the slow season we provide basic local meal and ask volunteer to get other foods they like for their meals, and since we depend just on solar, we may not be able to use the fans some time, and probably won´t be able to make ice. Life if hard here in the rain forest, is not a piece of cake. But you can fish as much as you want, use the canoes or kayak., visit El Castillo.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Room with private bath.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Beside exploring the rain forest, the town of el Castillo has an old Spanish fort on top of a hill overlooking the river, the town don’t have cards, just walking walkways, most people come to our area because of the rain forest, and sport fishing, some water sport like water ski is available and canoes and kayak tours.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have wifi but we get 170 giga and we use Netflix so our regular wifi last about 20 day per month, then we purchase extra gigas. So wifi is not free the last 10 days of the month. We dont have computer you bring your own.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4 to 5






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 621782128118