Help in our gardens with permaculture projects in Wareham, Massachusetts, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

235 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    31  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    21/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Two teachers in our early fifties, our two children have grown up and left the house so we have lots of room. And lots of projects! We are doing permaculture as much as we can and are always looking at ways to improve the land and gardens. We have a small property (0.17 acres) so we really have to maximize the use of it. We have several free-range chickens, two big veggie gardens, some fruit trees and berry bushes just planted, and are looking to expand some of our garden area. In the late winter we make maple syrup, and sea salt in the summer. We also have a wood-fired sauna, and a wood-fired hot tub for relaxing after a long day's work!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will see what life in a small coastal Massachusetts town is like. We lived abroad and traveled extensively in our younger days, and look forward to doing so again in a few years when retirement hits, so we love talking about worldly events and happenings all over.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for help in several areas: converting some ground to garden plots, taking care of the chickens, chopping wood (for the hot tub, sauna, and maple syrup) and general gardening help. Also looking for help with general house upkeep and cooking/meal preparation. Depending on the season, we might also be making and/or bottling mead, wine, or kombucha which you can help with and sample. Also sea salt production, preserving garden produce for winter consumption, various spontaneous art projects, and whatever you and your skills can do! :)

    One last comment, we have learned through experience with Workawayers that it's best to be up front about this: we look for and need people who will get right to work, stick with a task, ask for clarification if they don't understand how to do something, seek out/continue with/ask for new jobs when they finish something (instead of waiting to be told what to do), be cheerful, tell jokes, clean up after themselves (tools, dishes, etc.), be willing to lend a hand at whatever. The work is not too taxing, it's generally 3-5 hours max per day, we try to assign jobs that are interesting and varied. Sometimes there will be some tedious ones in the mix but that is part of permaculture, too. We don't want to have people who constantly check their cell phones during working hours, or who we feel we have to remind/cajole to get back to work, or who we have to clean up after. We have had a few of the latter type, who to be honest have been tough - but the vast majority have been hard-working, cheerful and great to have around, luckily!

    In return we treat you like family - shared meals, we'll include you in evening games, we'll take you kayaking, on beach trips, to hard-to-find but interesting local areas, we'll have hot tub or sauna evenings (really relaxing as the weather cools down!), fire pit hangouts, lazy bike trips. Lots of fun.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will have a room with a comfortable bed.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You are welcome to borrow a bike to go riding. There are three nice beaches close by, within biking distance. Cape Cod is just east of us, and the historic port of New Bedford (where Herman Melville worked as a whaler before writing Moby Dick) is just west of us. There are many areas to hike and kayak hereabouts, too.

    We are hosts on other sites too, so are very experienced and comfortable with having people coming and going.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 585598736651