Explore the city and surroundings, and help out in the house of a creative and active family in Oslo, Norway

Country

Noruega

actualizado  

477 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    25  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    01/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    69.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 22 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello, please be our Mary Poppins! December (and maybe January): help us move into our new apartment (you need a driver's licence)!

    We are looking for someone to stay with us from asap and all of December. Not sure if we have space in January. Read on for details and more info.

    DECEMBER 2021 (and maybe january 2022):
    We are currently living in a quiet residential area with stunning views over the Oslo fjord. Soon we will be moving to a totally different kind of neighbourhood which is nice in other ways! It is multicultural and much more diverse, we can still see a bit of the fjord, and we are excited about our new life there. We get the keys in the middle of December and still keep the current apartment until after xmas, so that period will be a transitional one where we will need A LOT of help with moving! Especially frm 10th December until xmas. From January we are not sure we have space for a workawayer! Here are some tasks:

    - DRIVING stuff forth and back between the apartments, to the recirculation station and to and from shops.
    - FIXING things in the new apartment, such as hanging up pictures, installing appliances, simple carpentry etc
    - CARPENTRY (possibly) - we are thinking of creating multipurpose furniture such as beds with reading spaces underneath, or a galleried / mezzanine bed over the stairs - you'd need to prove that you have the necessary knowledge to build safely.
    - ORGANIZING stuff, throwing things away and organizing in both homes
    - CLEANING - we need a deep cleaning of the old home!
    - PAINTING we popssibly need to paint some walls in the old home and for sure some in the new!
    - MISC - there can be many different tasks when moving homes - just be a support, be practical, it is musch appreciated!¨
    - IN RETURN you get to experience Norwegan family life and you get a lot of flexibility and time to explore

    Back to the GENERAL DESCRIPTION of the help we need on a daily basis:

    COVID-19 : Were hosting people, but you have to have a valid covid certificate.

    We are a mother (aged 35), 3 kids (aged 15, 12 and 11), a cat and a kitten.

    We have hosted several workawayers now and we all enjoy it and learn a lot from it.

    I am such a scatterbrain and need someone who can make a system in the house and help out with various daily tasks. There is a lot of flexibility. People who make themselves useful and take initiative to do so are very much appreciated!

    My parents are my nearest neighbours (in our current home) and they can use some help too, with various tasks, and they are really nice people with whom you can have nice conversations. The kids sometimes need help with schoolwork etc. A big plus if you can teach my kids things, such as computer animation, art, science, mathematics, sports, language or music! Looking forward to meeting you!

    We love creative and / or scientifically minded, active, fun and easy-going people! :) Do you have a special skill? Do you play an instrument, do martial arts or parkour, enjoy making films, cooking tasty food, making arts and crafts, dancing, playing soccer, teaching science or anything? As I mentioned, t is so cool if you can teach the kids something!

    In general I like to host workawayers for 3 weeks, but we can discuss this too. I once hosted two workawayers who didn't know each other from before, and it was okay too. Combining people is nice!

    Note: I sometimes receive a lot of applications and I regret that I don't always manage to read through or respond.

    Also note: My kids are my treasures, so I only accept applicants with good feedback left on their profile or who can supply proper reference letters or a clean criminal record certificate.

    Btw, feel free to check out my music as artist / producer - ask me for the links :)

    Regarding language practice: I generally don't have time to teach, but feel free to ask my kids!

    I also have a detailed google doc full of several tasks to choose from, since i dont have time to instruct.

    Here is our Workawayer traveller profile (yes we have been volunteers too! Once we were badly treated in Denmark, slept in a tiny room with no window and did hard manual labour with now concern for the kids! And the other time we were at a great place in Finland, the kids were given age-appropriate tasks and we became friends with our host! We try to be good hosts and also expect the willingness to help out! Only once have we experienced a workawayer who really just wanted to live for free. In general we find people are great!): (probably deactivated)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I'd be happy to make you Norwegian waffles with Norwegian brown cheese. I can try to help you get familiar with the culture and city, depending on my available time - I am a very busy person. I hope we can become friends :)

    Our current home (2021): The house is roughly 20 min from the city center of Oslo by tram. We have a large garden and spacious rooms, as well as a great view overlooking the Oslo fjord. It is a very safe area from which you can easily get to any part of town. Oslo is a lovely city with a lot of culture going on, and fun activities.

    Our new home (2022): It is about 20 min from city centre by train, in a very nice part of a suburban area. The area offers a library, a mall, a forest and everything one needs. A bike of less that 2km takes you to the sea.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are a mother (aged 35), 3 kids (aged 15, 12 and 11) and two cats. We need babysitting, catsitting, help in the house, and different other projects. The kids sometimes need help with schoolwork etc. A big plus if you can teach my kids things, such as computer animation, art, science, mathematics, language or music! Looking forward to meeting you!

    Help is normally mostly needed in the morning (getting kids ready for school) and in the afternoon (preparing dinner and / or babysitting). Cleaning and other chores are flexible tasks.

    We need babysitting, catsitting, driving / walking the kids to school / activities, help with homework, help in the house / chores, grocery shopping, and different other help (basically childcare help). I love when you can see what needs to be done, and do it! Like stocking up the fridge whenever basics are missing, and keeping it clean and tidy, and engaging the kids in organizing (like Mary Poppins!) :) I am terrible at asking people for help, so please just offer it! I am also bad at organizing, so please help me :) I am so busy working from home, so cannot really teach people how to help me... My lack of freetime is the reason I am asking for help, you know! Also, involve the kids in the work, as I want them to become excellent citizens of this world! I have made a list of suggested tasks and will send it over if we decide we are a match. Also, I am composing music, so even though I am at home I need plenty of quiet time to myself. That being said, you will totally be a part of our family when you are here!

    I also have a detailed google doc full of several tasks to choose from, since i dont have time to instruct.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Norwegian: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante
    Español: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I generally don't have time to teach, but you can speak Norwegian and English with my kids! We are interested in learing German, French and Spanish.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Our current home (2021): You will have a cozy bedroom. I will let you know if I decide to host another workawayer at the same time and if it will be necessary to share rooms. In most cases you will have your own :) Please don't hesitate to inquire more about this. You will eat with us or from the food stored in the fridge, food room or freezer. Dinner together is the best, but sometimes we are all so busy that we just grab whatever leftovers are in the fridge! We love if you can cook big portions and that we eat together and leave the leftovers in the fridge for the busier days.

    Our new home (2022): We are moving to a new home with less space, and are not sure if we will be able to host workawayers. We can discuss sleeping arrangements if you are interested. Nothing more I can say for now, will know more once we have settled in.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Check out Oslo Sommerpark, Vigelandsparken, Astrup Fearnly museum, SALT cultural arena and awesome sauna, Sørenga beach, Blå (club)... "Visit Oslo" is a very nice guide (free and online).

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Depends! I have two cats and they are afraid of dogs... But let us talk about it! We love animals!

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Usually 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week, but we can discuss this more in detail before you arrive.

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicación: (4.9)

















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 584329195316