Join me and help make the Tinglum farm come back to life - in Namdalseid, Norway

Country

Noruega

actualizado  

135 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    22/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 10 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Come, live and enjoy the beautiful Norwegian farm life. I am 35 years old and just moved back to Norway after living in the US for the past 6 years. The farm is my family farm where I grew up, and the location has been in my family for over 300 years. This is the perfect place to go fishing in the lakes, the rivers, and the ocean, hunting moose, deer, and birds in the fall, and enjoying the snow and skiing in winter. In the spring and summer, it's all about making sustainable food and growing flowers and vegetables, caring for the animals and preparing for a new winter, trying to become as self-sufficient as possible.

    This farm is situated in the middle of Norway, about 2h drive north of the regional capital, Trondheim, in the village of Namdalseid. The farm is beautifully set in a valley overlooking a small river and with beautiful views of the mountains and the sunset. I live here with my Norfolk Terrier dog, Liam, and about 35 egglaying chickens. Maybe there will be a goat and some sheep in the spring.

    I would love your company and help!

    A little bit more about me: The last year have been hard on me. I was in a car accident in December of 2020, and I have internal head injuries that is making it hard for me to continue the high level of work that I was doing in the states (Being a business trainer/consultant and running my own design firm and combining that with clients I worked with on nutrition and health) and Is also making my capacity of just doing everyday normal tasks a little limited.
    I also went through a rough breakup and separation from my long-term husband from the states, and trying to mend the wounds and heal from that. The move back to Norway was my only escape and only route to get some space, calm and time to heal.

    The help I am looking for is divided into three categories:
    1) Day to day: The general upkeep of the farm, the buildings, the animals and the garden. This would include taking care of the chickens, sheep and goats, cutting the lawn, doing gardening, taking care of the food preparation, cleaning and general housekeeping to keep the house nice for everyone.
    2) Larger projects: I also have quite a few bigger projects that would be GREAT to do this season. One example is that I want to build a greenhouse (already have the materials and the plans, just needs to be built). See below for more info.
    3) I want company. Im used to not be alone, and also used to the life in NYC, London and Oslo, and I am now all by myself, and would like to go hiking, biking, paddling, fishing etc with a group of new friends.

    I did my first season of workaway after I got back from the US in May of 2021, and I have had the BEST experience getting to know my new friends. From June 2021 to September 2021, I had 15 workawayers staying with me at the farm, most stayed 3-4 weeks, but I invited some to stay for almost 3 months. At the busiest, we were 9 people at the same time!! Such fun times! And I want to recreate this next summer, being at least 4-5 at any point in time to have a great community!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Learning old Norwegian traditions and reviving the survival skills needed to sustain a farm, with making and preparing food, maintaining the buildings, and taking care of the animals.
    I am fluent in Norwegian and English.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Your help with everyday life on the farm is very much appreciated. This would include taking care of the animals, gardening, carpentry, painting and also some clearing out stuff from the main house and barn and making the farm better. I also have three cabins, a lake cabin, a mountain cabin and a forest cabin, that all need general upkeep and some love!

    The farm and stay here with me is ideal for a single individual, a couple or a group of friends who like to take time out from the stress of a city to enjoy the Spring / Summer / Fall in the rural farmlands of Norway.

    There is a vast number of tasks that CAN be done, so the stay will very much be adapted to your skills, wants and where you want to use your or gain more experience. The following is a list of specific items that can be part of your stay with me:
    Developing the chicken coop, as we always try to make the life of the chickens bigger and better!
    Building, developing, and maintaining the vegetable garden. We have vast flower beds, 8 vegetables garden boxes, a strawberry field that needs to be remade and also vegetable fields for potatoes, carrots, beets etc.
    Developing and maintaining the fruit trees and making jams and sauces. And in the fall produce cider from the apples.
    Renovating bedrooms with painting, building, furnishing, wallpapering etc.
    Fishing in the ocean, rivers, and lakes. Net fishing, pole fishing and boat fishing are possible.
    Picking wild berries. Raspberries and cloudberries are abundant.
    Picking mushrooms, I am an avid forager and have been a mushroom specialist for years.
    We are also growing mushrooms in the basement on the farm, and thinking about starting to cultivate to sell at the local markets.
    We are building a greenhouse this spring and will need to take good care of it and the contents.
    We are replacing the dock at our mountain cabin,
    Renovating and sprucing up the forest cabin,
    Painting the barn and fixing some siding etc there.
    I also want to build a nicer outside space in the garden.
    And maybe build a smoker to smoke meats, a hottub for the colder days and some cool small projects like that.
    Also thinking about producing honey (getting bees), making goat cheese (getting goats) making wool (getting sheep)
    My dog, Liam, is a show dog, and you can help train him and make him show-ready.
    I love to cook and try new recipes, so if you are into cooking you will find the old cookbooks from my great-grandmother enthralling.

    There is no need for any particular skills prior to coming. All you need is your smile and good mood :-)
    Though, if you do have a specific skill, that will for sure be put to use, if you want to!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Norwegian: Fluido
    Alemán: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The house is from 1960, and not many updates have been done over the years. Its comfortable, but not luxurious. You will have your own private room in the main house, you can choose from one of the 8 bedrooms in the house. There are three bathrooms and an additional toilet on the first floor. We will make communal meals together. You can also use the kitchen to make your own food, but eating together is part of the best experience. High-speed wifi is available throughout the house. In short, it's comfortable but not luxurious.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You will have access to the forest and mountains and the lake cabin not too far away from the farm. Nature is right around the corner! The farm is secluded, and there isn't much to do around (the closest town is 30min by car away).
    I have my car that you can use If you need, or I can take you as well if that works.
    We also have some old bikes on the farm that you can use.
    I do not accept smokers and my farm is a drug-free zone.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    You can totally stay on the farm and be a digital nomad. I have high-speed fiber connection and mesh-wifi throughout the house. I am also working online doing training workshops for entrepreneurs and working with my nutrition clients, and would love to collaborate on projects I am working on as well.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have all the space needed to host your car or van!

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Would love to have another dog here, so feel free to bring yours! Other pets might not work out, but ask.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (4.8)








Número de referencia de anfitrión: 354144147974