Help us set up our small permaculture, family homestead in NE Washington, USA



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas



  • Descripción


    We live in a rural area an hour north of the Spokane airport in WA. My name is Julie and my husband's name is Patrick. We have four daughters ages 2, 6, 10, 17, and 3 sons ages 12, 15 and 19. The other residents currently include rabbits, cats, a black lab and a multiplying chicken flock. We are life learners / wild schoolers / TJed homeschoolers. Patrick works full time remotely.
    We live on a beautiful property on 20 ish acres that includes fields, forest and a picturesque creek that runs through the property. We especially love hosting Workawayers and gleaning from your experiences and interests! We learn so much from meeting people from all walks of life and benefit so much from the cultural exchange!
    We also welcome opportunities to learn about the Inland Pacific Northwest together when possible and are located in a great location with many wonderful places to explore nearby, especially since we are new to the area! We are very close to Northern Idaho, an hour from the Canadian border, an hour from the Spokane, WA airport and under 2 hrs from Montana.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    By staying with us you will be able to engage in a more in depth cultural experience of Northwest. We are working hard to create our homestead using a sustainable design practices as we manage our stewardship while creating experiences for learners of all ages.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    We are especially in need of someone who has experience renovating or is eager to learn. Our home needs some renovations. The current stairs need to be replaced, there are doors that need to be hung, hardwood floors to put in and finished, electric wiring to install, plumbing for an upstairs laundry room that is being added, painting, sanding, staining, siding that needs to be installed.....and the list goes on. If we find the right workawayer that has skills, the stay could be several months or longer if there is a need and we can pay for time worked over assigned hours.

    We would also love to have help with setting up our homestead, especially growing food, making repairs, landscaping and building. Some current homestead projects include a bunk house in our forest, butchering chickens, an outdoor shower, outdoor kitchen, cob oven, steps down our hill, swales on contour, animal paddocks, greenhouse, finishing our basement and expanding the garden area. There are also some cleaning tasks, random tasks that relate to having a big family, cooking, wildcrafting, gardening, farm work and sharing what you love with our children.

    When you introduce yourself, I would love to know what kind of work you prefer and what you want to learn more about. We are flexible and will love designing your experience so that it compliments your particular interests while also helping our household's various goals most of the time.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I would love to learn more spanish to add to what I learned in school and along the way.

  • Alojamiento


    Currently we have a master suite with a bathroom in the house reserved for someone that is interested in helping with renovations. We also have one small trailer, or you can bring your own trailer. There is camping available near the creek during warmer months. We also have large daylight basement that is unfinished.
    We are willing to host those who have concerns about Covid and are willing to offer outdoor work and experiences, although the cultural exchange is more difficult. We as a family rely heavily on natural immunity and are not concerned about socializing and close interaction, especially with those staying on our property. If you choose the shot, please take it several weeks before coming.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our location is ideal for travelers who want easy access to outdoor recreation opportunities. We live 1 mile from a beautiful lake and 4 minutes from the Pend Orielle River! There are forest areas, hunting, fishing, lakes, trails. We are only 30 minutes to a ski resort and an hour from Silverwood Theme Park!

    We live along a highway outside of town along a beautiful country road. Take a day trip to Spokane, Collville, Coeur d'Alene, ID or Sandpoint, ID. by bus or car. Unless you are looking to use Uber or Lyft while in town we recommend renting a vehicle in order to take advantage of your stay out here. I can also drive you to the bus stop on occasion and take you on errands when we go.

    This is a perfect opportunity for friends traveling together, couples, and especially families because we live more remotely!

    Our daily life includes the children and attempting to keep things in order and feed people. We eat primarily organic, whole, local food in season that is fairly simple. We love eating food and herbs grown in our garden and eggs from our hens when they are not molting or too hot or cold. Our garden is a "learning garden" so it only supplements our diet, but some things are plentiful at times! Patrick is vegetarian aside from eggs and fish and the rest of us are omnivores who eat locally, raised humanely raised meat sparingly.

    I am often heading out for homeschool related activities, schooling, working around the property in the or spending time at the creek in the afternoon during the summer. Patrick has a very heavy workload but tries to join us in the evening and on the weekend when possible. When at home we are playing, learning, cleaning, and cooking for the most part. We often go camping when the weather is right and would love to have you join us if you are interested.

    At times we require a background check. We expect our guests to not smoke and drink anywhere near the house or take drugs. We personally abstain from alcohol and cigarettes and don't have them in our home but if you bring your own trailer or it remains at your campsite it is your choice. We are striving to create a wholesome environment for our kids. We live a busy, often crazy and fun life. Still, having 7 dynamic and primarily extroverted children can be dramatic and wild at times! Come join the fun! We are especially excited about all the benefits that come from learning all about you, and your home. It's like traveling without going anywhere!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have high speed fiber internet you can plug into.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Almost any size can park here depending on availability! There will be less work hours if you provide your own lodging or camp on the property.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Let's talk to see if your pets can be accommodated here! I am open to the possibility.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 574814323228

Comentarios (6)


Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Learn about sustainable living, cooking, history and construction projects in Colorado Springs, USA
Help with some home organisation projects and explore Beautiful Wyoming, USA